Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Who has what t-case...would you change it...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Shagnaz, Nov 25, 2003.

  1. Shagnaz

    Shagnaz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina, North Charleston
    I want to know what people have besides stock t-cases.
    WMS, ORD doubler, Atlas, or Klune-V
    Would you change if you could do it again.

    I am "in the air" about a added gear reduction and everything is sounding really nice and prices are pretty close.
    Please, let me know truthfully.

    Thanks
     
  2. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    [ QUOTE ]
    I want to know what people have besides stock t-cases.
    WMS, ORD doubler, Atlas, or Klune-V
    Would you change if you could do it again.

    I am "in the air" about a added gear reduction and everything is sounding really nice and prices are pretty close.
    Please, let me know truthfully.

    Thanks

    [/ QUOTE ]

    WMS - Basically the same thing as the ORD Doubler.
    ORD doubler - This is what I have, great setup.
    Atlas - Cannot handle input from a high HP engine, not worth the $2500+ dollars.
    Klune-V - Nice to have a 5.1 lo, but another peice that cannot handle the big ponies.
     
  3. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    [ QUOTE ]

    WMS - Basically the same thing as the ORD Doubler.
    ORD doubler - This is what I have, great setup.
    Atlas - Cannot handle input from a high HP engine, not worth the $2500+ dollars.
    Klune-V - Nice to have a 5.1 lo, but another peice that cannot handle the big ponies.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    i agree that the WMS/ORD doubler is good hardware, but the Atlas is used on lots of rigs with pretty beefy engines. I wouldnt put one behind a blown 502 or anything, but I wouldnt hesitate to put it behind my 350 or a 383. and the Klune-V? never even heard about one of the Goliath model Klune's breaking...Im sure some one has broken one, but you can say that about any truck part ever made.

    j
     
  4. Mudzer

    Mudzer 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    I have a WMS Dual Case setup in mine. I would definately recommend a Doubler (either ORD or WMS) in any Fullsize Rig. I think it has the best combination of gears for what I do here in Missouri. Make sure to Twin Stick the NP205 and add cutting brakes for more useability.

    Heres my T-cases: [​IMG]

    Clearance....

    [​IMG]

    Level Outputs/Input...

    [​IMG]

    My outputs are level with the inputs, plus the NP203 box is upside down. /forums/images/graemlins/pimp1.gif
     
  5. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    For me, I have a ORD doubler. Its nice, but I need something lower.

    Ideally, I would have gone with a WMS 3.01:1 NP203 range box, then twin stick my NP205.

    It comes down to power I guess. My 350 is not going to spin the world backward, but it won't break parts as often too, so I am stuck with lower gearing.

    With my current set-up, I'm only at 51:1 mechanical crawl (102:1 with TC factored in) but with a 3:1 203, 76:1 mechanical (152:1 TC) crawl would be achieved. this would be better for my application, since I want to not use my gas pedal at all. I have seen rigs with 160:1 with a SBC, and they kick arse. Ken (crwln73) has about this (350FI, SM465, ORD Doubler, 5.86's) and he owns.

    Other can't get low enough. 73K5tony wants a 5:1 Atlas III, so with that set up (402, SM465, Atlas III, 5.13's) he'd be at 168:1 with huge amounts of power.

    Ideally, you'd be able to "test drive" each. but a lot of people use their rigs for lots of different things, so I'd go with a dual case set up.

    p.s. There is no issue with the FS Atlas cases. If you put a BBC in front of a 21 spline Jeep version, what do you expect?
     
  6. ducttape114

    ducttape114 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orcutt Ca
    the atlas has only 2 choices 1:1 or 5.1:1 i have a doubler and i use the 2:1 a lot. and like zakk said you can change the 203 to 3:1 and have all kinds of options. 2:1,3:1,6:1. the atlas is lighter thou. i wouldnt change what i have, except maybe 3:1 for the 203 someday.
     
  7. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    if u want more options, just do a 3:1 203 / atlas doubler. problem solved. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    j
     
  8. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    Project PITA over on the PBB board has that. thing has an insane crawl.
     
  9. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    wonder if anyone runs a Klune-V + Atlas combo. That'd make for hella low gearing and be relatively lightweight for a 2 "case" system...

    j
     
  10. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    [ QUOTE ]
    wonder if anyone runs a Klune-V + Atlas combo. That'd make for hella low gearing and be relatively lightweight for a 2 "case" system...

    j


    [/ QUOTE ]

    DBLAZER is running this setup I believe.
     
  11. dhdescender

    dhdescender 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada - Eh.
    I'm running a NP203 -> NP205 via my own adaptor and WMS resplining my intermediate shaft. I haven't got my Th400 back from the tranny shop so I'm not sure how it will perform...I may eventually go to 3:1 Gears from WMS....Or just do it myself /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    The Gears are welded...and noice the price is based on "exchange on range box" So I think they're using factory gears and simply re-arranging them and welding them back onto another specified shaft...As long as I can find what combo they're using, I can *easily* reproduce what they've done with just a little care.
     
  12. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    In case you wanted to understand a bit more about "why" the ORD Doubler is built (and costs) the way it is....here's a link where Stephen describes the product extensively:

    Dr. Watson speaks about the Doubler design...


    Personally, whenever I look at the ORD products up close I just get this overwhelming sense that they really understand what it takes to build a quality product. All the little details are taken care of.... which makes it worth the slight premium in price. /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif
     

Share This Page