Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Who here has a v8 in their S-10?

Discussion in '1983-2005 S-Series models' started by COCHEV, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. COCHEV

    COCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,055
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Washougal WA
    might be getting a free 85 S-10 blazer and, of course, i want to stuff a v8 in it. not interested in dropping the body on a full size frame. looking for guys who have done the swap into a s-10 frame and body. i'm gunna do a 350/th700 combo. seems the simplest to do given this is an auto rig to start with. i already have a th700 for a v8.

    side question= is the output shaft on a v8 version 700r to 208 the same as the s-10 trannie or will i need to swap output shafts? any other details would be nice.

    anyone?
     
  2. COCHEV

    COCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,055
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Washougal WA
    wow, no one?:what:
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I've broken the rear end in mine with just the wimpy TBI 4.3 under the hood. :cool1: I've looked at the V8 conversion stuff and decided that it would be a LOT of time, work, and money and then I would start breaking expensive parts. :wink:
     
  4. S10K5

    S10K5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm doing a 350/700r4/203 set up in my 92 S10 Blazer and it hasn't been bad. As far as the output shaft on the 700r4, I am using the 700r4 that was behind the 4.3 V6. I had to change out the output shaft to make it work with the NP203. The new shaft is quite a bit shorter. Also they made a 32 and a 27 spline 208, which do you have?
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm about to do it. And be a man put 1 tons under it ;) mines getting a high pinion 60 and 14 bolt.

    And yes your 700R4 should bolt up to the S10s case. It is also a 700R4, its a 60* V6 700R4 but it is a 700R4.
     
  6. 86chevybanshee

    86chevybanshee 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    beverly MA
    im about to do it but its a 2wd
     
  7. big4x4ride

    big4x4ride 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Posts:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    i have a94 s10 was 4 cyl and standard 2wd, then went 383/tci th350, then 305/tci th350, now it 350 tci th350/np208, and 10 bolts front and rear on 35's, next is the d60 and 14B FF
     
  8. kmkommes

    kmkommes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    appleton,wi
    I have a 94 LT1 in my 94 sonoma. Broke stock rear with 33" tires when stuck in goey mud. Now I am going narrowed 12 bolt rear and narrowed HP dana 44 front with 35" tires.
     
  9. 4bynut

    4bynut 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Posts:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Morrison, IL
    I just bought a 89 S10 4x4 ext cab. It already has a 305HO, rebuilt 700R4, and stock transfer case. The truck was originally a 4.3L truck. I was wondering did you guys keep the 4.3 motor mounts or buy aftermarket ones. To me it looks like my motor is sitting up to high in the frame. The truck has a 3" body lift and still it don't look like theres much hood clearance over the motor. Thank's in advance. Jason
     
  10. kmkommes

    kmkommes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    appleton,wi
    I went with advanced adapters motor mounts, basically all they are is flat plates that bolt to the 4.3 motor mounts and then to the block. The motor mount on the 350 is like 4" forward compared to the 4.3 mount. The motor only sits maybe 1/4" higher which would be the thickness of the flat plate.
     

Share This Page