Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Who here rides a motorcycle?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by newyorkin, Aug 2, 2005.

?

What kind of bike do you have?

1. Sport bike

6 vote(s)
    14.0%
  2. Touring/cruising bike

11 vote(s)
    25.6%
  3. Dirt/off-road bike

14 vote(s)
    32.6%
  4. ATV

6 vote(s)
    14.0%
  5. I don't have a bike.

8 vote(s)
    18.6%
  6. I'm nekkid

11 vote(s)
    25.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

I just bought a 1986 Kawasaki Vulcan 750. It's not perfect, but I'm so totally stoked to have a bike now... I'm going to run over and take pics during lunch... Don't rag on me too bad, oh Harley men, I'm just getting into it! :D

I just read the DMV manual and I'm going to see if I can go get my permit this week, but I don't really have much of a clue how to ride...

The MSF Ridercourse is $350. :eek:

Anyone ever take it? I know everyone will say safety safety safety, but is it *really* worth it? BTW, in my state, a course completion certificate waives the motorcycle road test requirement, and I get my license at completion.

There are private instructors available around here, but they're about $40 an hour. In a 1-1 setting, can I learn enough in a couple hours to render the 15-hour course moot?
    The next course is this weekend, too, so I'd have to get my crap together and go pay for it quick if I go that route. Next after that is in September.
    I like courses that go in-depth and teach you effective techniques. I took a driving course once that taught me how to accelerate into turns properly, and that's stuck with me ever since. That stuff I find value in, but I've taken so many other courses that I couldn't stay awake through that just recited the same alcohol blood level crap over and over.