Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

whole slew of newbie questions

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by avgjoe, Sep 5, 2002.

1. avgjoe

avgjoe Registered Member

I'm new to the 67-72 4wd scene. I've alway's been in the 73-87(91) range. Any help with the given, right off the bat upgrades for these trucks would be great. So fill in the blank-"First off you should (need to) ________."

P.S. I saw something about moving the rear axle forward or something. I'm looking for things like this, needed bracing, etc.

2. jc71355

jc71355 1/2 ton status

Get rid of any RUST!!! It's the devil, but you probably allready knew that. /forums/images/icons/grin.gif

3. aksidentproan

aksidentproan 1/2 ton status

Some people will tell you that if you run bigger then 35's you need to move the front axle forward 1.5 inches and the back axle back 1.5 inches to keep scrubbage to a minimum. Other then that I cant think of anything else that is "needed" but probably alot of wants.

Evan

4. avgjoe

avgjoe Registered Member

So from the factory the wheels are not centered (from front to back) in the wheel well? In case you haven't seen my other post, I'm looking to swap the whole suspension and drivetrain from my 84 K5 to a 68 C10. Since I'll have free reign as far as the axle install, would now be a good time to improve on any placement issues?

In other words should I use a stock truck for my pattern, or would it be better to play it by ear and put them where they will look/work better?

5. chulisohombre

chulisohombre 1/2 ton status