Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Who's cut there 700r4 shaft for the doubler???

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by KrebsATM02, Sep 19, 2001.

  1. KrebsATM02

    KrebsATM02 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2000
    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station, Texas
    Who\'s cut there 700r4 shaft for the doubler???

    Well who's done it??? One guy in our club did it to put a 205 behind a 700r4 with a TPI 350 in four runner. Problem is i don't know the reliablity because everything breaks first on it. I know someone has done it. My plan is to put the doubler in behind the 700r4 ,d60 front, 144ff rear, and either 38.5's or 42's. What do ya'll thinke??? Thanks - Doug

    Doug Krebs
     
  2. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    Re: Who\'s cut there 700r4 shaft for the doubler???

    Should not be a problem because that is what Steve is running in the ORD rig behind a stout bigblock.

    See <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Waynes-Toy>Project Mighty Mouse</a> here.
    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
     
  3. moneypit

    moneypit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Posts:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    COLORADO
    Re: Who\'s cut there 700r4 shaft for the doubler???

    I bought a new shaft for the trans. $150 bucks and some labor.Never heard of anyone cutting there shaft. OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!LOL!!!!!!!!!
     
  4. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Re: Who\'s cut there 700r4 shaft for the doubler???

    Yeah, I wouldn't cut the shaft either. You could either get a new "short" style shaft and swap that in, and that'll make the R4 look like a TH350 to the 203....or, I've heard this done and think a couple members did this, but make an extension of some sort that the TH350/203 version adapter bolts up to. Like a donut that is 1 1/2" thick or so. Use that as a spacer, so the 203 will mate to the R4 without change to a shorter shaft.
    Boss

    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  5. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    Re: Who\'s cut there 700r4 shaft for the doubler???

    I bought the short shaft kit to mate the 700 to a NP205 (originally a Th350 to NP205). I would not cut the shaft (does not leave a whole lot of spline). You can run a spacer, but in short wheelbase pickups and blazers you may run into a problem because the 700 is a longer trans and the doubler will take up precious inches. A rear CV would almost be a must (a must if you combine a suspension lift with everything else) unless you are running a longbed pickup or crew-cab and even then if you had a big enough lift a CV would probably be the only way to go.
    As to the original question. Yes you can cut the shaft on a lathe, but I would not advise it (just my opinion though).

    See my rig at <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot</a>
     
  6. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    Re: Who\'s cut there 700r4 shaft for the doubler???

    My trans is running the "built for it" output shaft, not a cut shaft. A spacer would work, and you could cut some of the shaft off, but buying the right one is pretty easy to do too. You don't want to cut off enough shaft to run it with no spacer, you need a little over an inch of spline to be safe. I'm on my second TH700 with this shaft with no problems and the first one doesn't even show any wear on it.

    Making the world better, one truck at a time.
    SW-ORD
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.offroaddesign.com>www.offroaddesign.com</a>
     

Share This Page