Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Why can't a lunchbox locker go in a Gov-lock carrier?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Blue85, Mar 14, 2003.

1. Blue85

Blue85 Troll Premium Member

Why can\'t a lunchbox locker go in a Gov-lock carrier?

It sounds dumb, but I'm having a hard time visualizing what prevents this from working. The axleshafts are in the same place. Is the distance from the top to the bottom different so that the cross-shaft is longer?

2. Leadfoot

Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Re: Why can\'t a lunchbox locker go in a Gov-lock carrier?

Educated guess here, I'm no expert:
    Lunchbox lockers are designed to replace the spider gears in a regular (open diff carrier). The carrier is designed for spider gears.
    In a LSD differential there are clutches packs along with spider gears or similar assembly. Due to more/different components, the carrier is designed differently to account for this. Therefor what fits one will not fit the other.

I'm assuming since LSD's work OK (as long as they aren't worn out), the aftermarket "added traction" industry targeted the open differential arena to market their products (as those would be the most in need), so that is what they designed them to fit (I also believe, but could be wrong, that there are more open diff carriers out there than LSD one).

3. nvrenuf

nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

I haven't researched it but I heard somewhere that there is a Detroit Locker (or maybe some other locker) on the market that will fit the Gov Lock carrier now.

4. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

Depending on what axle you have, there ARE lunchbox lockers that fit in a stock limited slip carrier. You just have to make sure you order the correct one.

5. Blue85