Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Why does my computer lock up whenever I use media player?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 84_Chevy_K10, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    My computer never locks up except any time I try to watch a video with media player.

    I have the newest version of my display driver and windows media player and I update it as often as possible.

    WTF? /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Slow computer or connection speed? The intro WMP forces to play at startup almost kills my comp and it's fairly fast with DSL.
     
  3. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Nope. It doesn't even do it with every file, and if I minimize it just as it starts, and bring it back maybe 10 seconds later, it will work.

    MTBlazer89's video locked up my comp, the I opened it up and it worked fine. /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif

    Stupid computer......
     
  4. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Sounds like it's downloading or buffering content, then coming up when it's done with that. Try downloading a couple videos to your hard drive, and double clicking them to play them. If it doesn't lock up when you play the videos from your hard drive, I'd guess it's trying to pull down content. There's a little trick that I forget, but it goes something like go into the preferences of media player and change the connection speed to 56k to slow down how much bandwidth WMP will try to use.
     
  5. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    I vote to much porn surfing....


    you need to stick to the higher quality porn sites timmay!


    quit looking for the farm animal down loads and you should be just fine... /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  6. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    I vote to much porn surfing....


    you need to stick to the higher quality porn sites timmay!


    quit looking for the farm animal down loads and you should be just fine... /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    [/ QUOTE ] /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif That's just wrong, funny, but wrong. /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  7. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    [ QUOTE ]

    quit looking for the farm animal down loads and you should be just fine... /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
    thats...weird
     
  8. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Sounds like it's downloading or buffering content, then coming up when it's done with that. Try downloading a couple videos to your hard drive, and double clicking them to play them. If it doesn't lock up when you play the videos from your hard drive, I'd guess it's trying to pull down content. There's a little trick that I forget, but it goes something like go into the preferences of media player and change the connection speed to 56k to slow down how much bandwidth WMP will try to use.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Nope. I never buffer content. I always download.

    I just tried downloading the white knight video she just put up and it locked up my computer too. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif

    funny thing is, the sound still plays, but the video locks up and so does the mouse pointer.
     
  9. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    Are you running a video card and is it workinf properly?
     
  10. roadhawg

    roadhawg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    sounds like it could be one of two things, either a conflict with other hardware running on the same IRQ or you need to flash the bios of the motherboard. to check if any other cards are using the same irq you go into the device manager ad select view resources by type. this is a common problem with Nvidia cards and AMD processors. I would need to know what kind of cards your running along with processor and what version of windows to try and think of ways to fix it.
     
  11. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Damn, you might be onto something. IRQ #9 has:
    Network card
    Modem
    USB adapter
    Video card

    They show no conflicts though, WTF?
     
  12. roadhawg

    roadhawg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    it wont show any conflicts, but Nvidia says on their website that they want their video cards to have their own IRQ, you should be able to change the irq of the other cards by moving them into another slot. i had many problems like this. what finally stopped the lockups for me was updating my bios and the irq conflicts straightened themselves out. Take caution updating your bios as it could render your system useless if you use the improper bios update or your power goes off during the flash. you have to know your exact model of your motherboard (stamped on the silkscreen of the motherboard) or if its a name brand computer goto their website to obtain an update.
    Hope this helps!
     
  13. jakeslim

    jakeslim 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    it wont show any conflicts, but Nvidia says on their website that they want their video cards to have their own IRQ, you should be able to change the irq of the other cards by moving them into another slot. i had many problems like this. what finally stopped the lockups for me was updating my bios and the irq conflicts straightened themselves out. Take caution updating your bios as it could render your system useless if you use the improper bios update or your power goes off during the flash. you have to know your exact model of your motherboard (stamped on the silkscreen of the motherboard) or if its a name brand computer goto their website to obtain an update.
    Hope this helps!

    [/ QUOTE ]


    I would guess its not this. Have you tried doing a fresh install? (uninstall, reboot, reinstall reboot). IRQ conflicts for the most part went away with Windows2000 and newer. BIOS updates are absolutely not necessary. As mentioned above
    you could screw it up and then it would really suck!

    Try downloading another(brand) media player, perhaps one with a free trial period, and try it. Also, scan for
    viruses that could corrupt media files.

    later,
    jakeslim
     
  14. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Thanks guys.

    I do need to wipe this computer out soon, I just need to get my copy of the OS from my dad's house before I can do it.

    Other media players work fine which is what kills me about this whole thing. I can play quicktime movies, audio from winamp or windows media player and everything is fine. Only if I attemt to watch a video via windows media player do I get it to lock up.
     

Share This Page