Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Why won't my 350 start?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by TX Mudder, Oct 27, 2001.

  1. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Why won\'t my 350 start?

    I was driving my k20 to a friend's house and it acted like it ran out of gas, so I pulled over. After the obligatory walk to the gas station, it still wouldn't start. After much fiddling, still nothing so I towed it home with my other truck.
    Here goes:
    Battery is brand new. Starter turns the engine over fine. I have verified gas is getting to the carb. I checked the ignition wire going to the distributor - it was like 12.5 or 12 volts with the igntion turned on. I grounded a spark plug wire to the fender it and it sparked at even intervals.
    But when I crank it over, it acts like there is either NO gas in the cyclinder or NO spark. I mean it acts completely dead, like nothing is happening in there. I've tried spraying starter fluid down my carb's throat - absolutely no effect. So it MUSt be igntion right?
    What do I check? I can check the ohm's of the coil, right? But it was sparking on the fender so it should be alright, correct? What about the modules and stuff inside the HEI? ANything easily checkable or should I jjust try a junkyard HEI?
    A guy stopped by and suggested the timing chain might have jumped a tooth. The engine is high mileage and no one will confuse it for a highly tuned machine, but it always runs damn it!
    What can i realistically check to find out about an out-of-time chain?
    Any ideas?
    -- Mike

    <font color=blue> The mud's on it to hide that it's more than one color.&lt;img src="http://coloradok5.com/forums/images/icons/tongue.gif"&gt;
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,178
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Re: Why won\'t my 350 start?

    You can remove the distributor cap and compare where the rotor points and where the timing marks line up. Anything around 8 degrees or so before TDC should allow the motor to fire and run OK.

    Having spark and having a strong enough spark are two different things. The least expensive thing if your timing looks OK would be a junkyard HEI...drop it in and give her a try. Most yards here will let a used distributor go for about $20 or so. Compared to a replacement module which is $25 or more...

    Better yet find a buddy with an HEI you can borrow for testing...[​IMG]

    A friend with a CJ5 running a 3.8 liter Chev V-6 had his die completely...we found one of the little wires inside the cap was burnt. Took us about 2 hours though. He was lucky enough to have broken down less than a block from the parts store in nice weather.[​IMG]

    Good luck

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/project_T2> tRusty pics...</a>
     
  3. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Re: Why won\'t my 350 start?

    Sounds ig. Either timming chain jumped or possibly the pin that holds the gear onto the shaft on the distributor sheared.

    Women dig dents and flat paint!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s>communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s</a>
    75 Jimmy, Dollar
    Grim-Reaper
     
  4. riz

    riz 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2000
    Posts:
    6,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Re: Why won\'t my 350 start?

    <font color=purple> Check the leads going to your distributor .......... One of mine fell off and did the exact same thing as you're describing to us ........... I put the clip back on and it fired right up .........Total cost = 0 .......... I left it where it was for a day and a half before I noticed the lead was off ........ I was looking at my carb linkage and accidentally popped one off .......popped it back on and presto !

    L8r,
    . Riz . <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/rizmonkey>www.geocities.com/rizmonkey</a>

    <font color=purple> BOW CHICKA BOW WOW !
     
  5. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Re: Why won\'t my 350 start?

    Try putting the key back in the switch! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Nah, just being a smart-ass!! [​IMG] [​IMG]



    I'm not picking my nose...I'm just pointing at my brain!! [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/thatK30guy>The K30 Collection</a>
     
  6. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    Re: Why won\'t my 350 start?

    I agree with Rene, just because it sparked doesn't mean it has the heat to produce an explosion. I had some problems a while ago and the ground wire under the coil was burnt. No ground wire can throw a serious drop in the current going thru the coil.

    That jeep thing? Yah I understand it....... Like my Blazer? <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     
  7. k5king

    k5king 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
    Re: Why won\'t my 350 start?

    <font color=purple> one thing noone mentioned is the cam. if you were driving it,,it might have trashed a few lobes at once if something got into them,,i know it's a long shot but it might be something to consider if everything else seem's ok,,but i would start at the dist. first and go from there checking the wires,,put in different dist. with another cap just to be sure,,then swap yur cap to see what's up if it does start,,might just have a bad coil or the module inside the dist. good luck<font color=purple>

    <font color=purple>ANYBODY LOSE THEIR JEEP????????[​IMG]
    I JUST FOUND ONE UNDER MY BLAZER!!!![​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]</font color=green>
     

Share This Page