Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Why would I take out the sway bar?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by google, Jun 17, 2005.

1. google

google 1/2 ton status

I was reading the differences between rear spring and block lifts and found something that makes me have to ask. Why would you take out the sway bar when wheeling?

2. 79k20350

79k20350 3/4 ton status

it gives you much better axle articulation. each tire can move indepently easier

3. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

the job of the sway bar is to keep the axle as level to the body as it can. The idea of offroad articulation is the opposite, thats why.

4. mr_blasto

mr_blasto 1/2 ton status

I have a '72 that does not have a sway bar. That being said, I have some experience with sway bars on other cars.

Sway bars are very useful under cornering because it limits body roll. When going around a turn the outside suspension will compress (or bump) while the inside will want to unload (droop). A sway bar ties the sides together and resists twisting. So as the outside tires try to tuck that force is going to be distributed to the inside tires as well forcing them in the tucking direction. Simultaneously as the inside tires try to droop, that force is distributed to the outside tires resisting the tucking/compression/bumping movement. So the sway bar reduces body roll by resisting the inside tires downward movement in relation to the body, while resisting the outside tires upward movement in relation to the body. Some body roll still occurs as the sway bar twists. Want less body roll - get a sway bar that is stiffer (usually larger diameter). Anyone see where this is going?