Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

width of rim

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 88-3/4t-bad boy, Sep 4, 2006.

1. 88-3/4t-bad boy

88-3/4t-bad boy 1/2 ton status

i have 16x8 outlaw II's. no more money for wider rims. but do i need wider rims for bigger tires? i mean there are huge tires for 15x8 rims. but i havent been able to find tires big enough for me for my 16x8. im looking at anywhere from 39.5's to 42's. im a noob on the whole tire thing. so any information that you guys can give me would be.... well... greaat. any information. :o :confused:

2. gmc4cw

gmc4cw 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

a good rule of thumb for matching tires to wheels is to not go more than 4 inches wider on the tire then the rim. an example would be a 33/12.5-16 would be at the upper limit of width for a 8 inch wheel. super swamper makes a few tall skinny tires. or buy weld on beadlocks. they will make your rims wider. good luck.

3. Slapperbar

Slapperbar Retired Navy NDT Examiner Premium Member

Weld on beadlocks won't work. The Outlaw II is an Aluminum rim.

4. sandawgk5

sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

There are companies that make weld on beadlocks for aluminum but they aint cheap. Also I disagree with the 4" max difference. If you air down at all a 12.5 on a 10" rim will loose the bead quite a bit. I run 15X8 and I have plans to run 42s on these same rims. A narrow rim acts like a poor mans beadlock. Yes you will get some tread crowning but with a tire that large you should not run 30# on the street anyway. I run 25 in my 37X12.5s and they work just fine with little to no crowning. There are guys out there running 44s or larger on stock width Hummer rims.

Ira

5. gmc4cw

gmc4cw 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner