Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Will a 400 tranny go in? Anybody have a spare 350 tranny?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by epurdy2005, Jun 16, 2006.

  1. epurdy2005

    epurdy2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marion,IN
    Well once again I just bought this truck and somebody ended up driving it one day and tehre was no tranny fluid in it......SO lots of peices of metal in the transmission pan and It will only go into Reverse now.

    Will a 400 tranny go in easily or do things have to be changed?
    Also does anybody haev a 350 transmission they want to sell...I need it bad!

    Thanks
    Evan
     
  2. lamberthkp

    lamberthkp SITFU Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    West TN
    i would like to help you out but i live a little to far away for you to get the th350 i have. good luck
     
  3. epurdy2005

    epurdy2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marion,IN
    Since i'm totally new to the truck and transmission work..........whats the TH stand for in front of the 350..........And my blazer is an 82 so does it have overdrive?...........I'm assuming it has a 350 tranny in it too. Its a 13 bolt pan anyways.
     
  4. lamberthkp

    lamberthkp SITFU Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    West TN
    turbo hydromatic, the th 350 i have came out of an 82 but i think that was the last year i think not sure. no overdrive! :D
     
  5. epurdy2005

    epurdy2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marion,IN
  6. lamberthkp

    lamberthkp SITFU Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    West TN
    yes 700r4 is but they renamed them a few years ago to i think 4l60e is what they are called that come in trucks now days. a 700r4 would fit right in your blazer but you would have to get a adaptor to give the correct spacing for you 208 transfer case.
    th400 will fit but i dont remember all the stuff that you change with the swap.
     
  7. epurdy2005

    epurdy2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marion,IN
    just what i needed to know! thanks!.....Think I'll stick with trying to find a 350 so I know everything will fit right i guess
     
  8. lamberthkp

    lamberthkp SITFU Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    West TN
    now if you take your old tranny to auto zone it will only cost like $600 for a rebuilt one with your core i put one of there trannys in my old white truck and beat the $hit out of it they seemed like good trannys. :D
     
  9. epurdy2005

    epurdy2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marion,IN
    oh i didn't know auto zone did that. Thats not too bad........Think I'm going to try to find a used one or rebuilt one because $600 is what i payed for the whole truck.lol
     
  10. lamberthkp

    lamberthkp SITFU Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    West TN
    ahh ok :haha: ya junk yard might turn out good for ya, post in the wanted section. :D
     
  11. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    the TH400 will fit in without any trouble and will work with your 350 engine (if thats what you have)... but as i know you will also need to change your transfer case or get an adapter (thats if you have 4wd).. you will also need to change the rear drive shaft as it is bigger..
     
  12. epurdy2005

    epurdy2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marion,IN
  13. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

  14. epurdy2005

    epurdy2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marion,IN
    Thats true I almost forgot

    Okay I foudn this info...Since mine is an 82 how would I know which one is in there? I'm guessing I have the TH350..Does the th700-r4 have overdrive or something?

    Blazer 1969-1982 TH350
    Blazer 1982-1992 TH700-R4/4L60
     
  15. goldwing2000

    goldwing2000 Guest

    Yes, the 700r4 has overdrive.
     

Share This Page