Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Will removing the converter help on HP and torque or hurt performance?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by PGL4VT, Nov 29, 2002.

1. PGL4VT

PGL4VT Registered Member

Some say removing it kills torque due to loss of back pressure. Opinions?

2. knudel

knudel Registered Member

There is that school of thought. However, overall I THINK the generally accepted idea is it'll help. An engine is nothing but an overgrown vaccuum, so less restriction everywhere is a good thing. I think tho, that a small amount of backpressure does help torque, but I'm not an expert on it, or on much for that matter!! I gutted it and the precats in my 96 MX-6 with a Ford logo and I noticed a diff. Remember it can actually be bad tho, alot of turbulence can end up in there, as well as it can make a stupid noise. If you can do a test pipe, great, or if there's a chance it'll be looked at I've known people to put a pipe the same diameter as the exhaust thru the cat and weld the edges. Or a pipe that just fits. looks stock but alot less reisitance. Good luck!

3. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

I personally don't really buy into the backpressure idea, (look at really fast vehicles, they run specially tuned headers, not cats to manage exhaust : )

and I don't buy into stock cat converters restricting flow either necessarily. To tell you the truth, any claims or "testing" I have seen, have all been USED stock catsagainst brand new "high flow" cats. There was an article in Corvette Fever that did exactly that, and it's not a fair comparison at all.

4. Lotsa_Faith

Lotsa_Faith 1/2 ton status