Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

win xp pro

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by surpip, Aug 26, 2006.

  1. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    so i have a *ahem* borrowed copy of xp, i had the code that allowed me to get updates
    well microsoft came out with a update that tell if you have a borrowed copy, and it shows up on my screen now
    i can still use it but would like to get rid of it, any ideas? Places to look?
     
  2. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    You can still use the copy of Windows XP, but there is no way to get updates or Microsoft support. You can change the settings of the alert, so it doesn't keep telling you that you're using an illegal copy.

    Also, if you do enough searching for 'GOOD' serials...you can actually change the serial that you're registered with, to make it seem 'legal'. If you don't know how to change your serial, just search google with "Changing serial in Windows XP". The first couple links should give you ample information on the process.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    cool thanks
    any links to help with searching?
    im lazy:)
     
  4. behemoth

    behemoth 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
  5. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    Wow, I never searched long enough to find anything like that. Now if there was only a way to make it so I could still get updates and whatnot. Before I read that link, all I did was use the actual WGA settings and changed it to "don't show me again" then just set the taskbar application to "always hide".

    Thanks for finding that behemoth.
     
  6. behemoth

    behemoth 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    You're welcome !!;)
     
  7. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    The real trick is to find a copy of XP that is from a corporate select licensing program and matching Key. no registration nastiness, no activation nastiness.

    Got any friends that works for a big enough company to have volume licensing?
     
  8. behemoth

    behemoth 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    My sister-in-law works for a Big East university and her former b/f installed a "copy" on her home PC. That WGA popup was driving her crazy. Bottom line - corporate licensing may not always prevent it.
     
  9. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,126
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    I might know where there is one.... :rolleyes:
     
  10. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    Hmm, so that way you could just use a different serial, and it would recognize it as being part of the company group?

    I did some searching, and found many patches to make the updating work, but I couldn't seem to get any of them to work. I think Microsoft updates their WGA system frequently, which makes patches go out of date very quickly.

    If anyone else comes across anything, post up. Thanks.
     
  11. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    ya my dad works for a big company that makes processors:)
    ill have to get his serial
     
  12. nad

    nad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Festus, MO
    That would be cool. Especially if you 'shared' with the brotherhood ;)
     
  13. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    naw
    wouldent want to get him fired
     
  14. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    You need the appropriate CD and key to go with it. If it is volume / select licensing, it will NOT prompt you to activate it. Purpose being, large companies with many workstations image their machines and deploy software electronically. There's no way they will put up with activating each copy each time it is deployed. Same deal with all MS products. Office, visio, operating systems, etc etc.
     
  15. SLOK5

    SLOK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SAN LUIS OBISPO CA
    Umm maybe BUY a copy from www.newegg.com You can save money and buy the update cd. Its the full version just as to see a former copy of windows. ....even a windows 98 cd will work for the up grade. I found this is the only way to go to avoid headaches for upgrades. And do you really need PRO? Home edition is the same just not as many ports available and slight difference. If your just running it for you personal use get the XP Home for 70.00-95.00 and be done. Last copy I bought of ebay but was NEW unopened for $75.00 ...
     
  16. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    yeah, that's the one thing most people who are otherwise cool wouldn't release.

    Me for example. If my company's key got out and get flagged by MS has being in the wild, it'd be a major pain in the neck. Even if i wasn't caught, that's 17,000 machines that the end user support team would have to redeploy. Not my problem but if they're busy doing that, people are going to start calling me with problems I don't have time to deal with either. My team may even get put on the project and I hate dealing with desktop crap.
     
  17. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    So why do you even need to update with that MS BS stuff .Mostly all MS updates are is a way for MS to catch piarated "Ahem" ERR "borrowed" software. I.m still running SP1 stuff because I cant update bcuse of problems that have to do with my AV. Computer runs fine never had any problems running the orginal XP without updates.
    So get your "patch", hoist the Jolly Rodger and join o'l Capt'n Thunder. The scourage of the www. If that scurvy dog governor Bill lays to our course we'll give him a thunderous brodside, Fill his belly with lead, and send the lubber and hid ship the HMS Microsoft to davy jones locker to feed the fishes ARRRRR!
     
  18. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    Thief..........
    Bill Gates is loosing money now.
     
  19. behemoth

    behemoth 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    I'm heartbroken ... :laugh:
     

Share This Page