Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

winch connection ?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MTPockets, Sep 21, 2002.

  1. MTPockets

    MTPockets 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gainesville, Florida
    moved battery behind passenger seat...need to lengthen cables. positive cable i can see...no problem, but can't i just tap into the frame for the negative connection? the only reason i ask is because instructions don't give alternate...just say negative post on battery. anyone running their winch this way?
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    no, a winch draws a lot of amps, needs to be connected straight to the negative side and positive side of the battery.
     
  3. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Well as long as you connect to the same frame rail as you run a NEW CLEAN ground to that same frame rail you could do it that way. Stock there is no ground connection from the battery to the frame. Normally the Ground goes to the block then a strap to the body off the passengerside head. What ground the frame is pulling is through body and motor mounts and not vey good.
    Personnaly I would feel that a ground cable to battery would be the better choice.
     
  4. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    My $.02 is to keep the cables as short as possible for less resistance and to keep the battery out of the loop. Ground it to the frame. In the end thats where everything ends up grounded anyhow.
     
  5. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    My Ramsey RE12,000 has no terminal on it for a ground, the ground is provided by it's mount. but i do have a leg of my ground running to the frame rail.
     
  6. MTPockets

    MTPockets 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gainesville, Florida
    i have solid clean ground from battery to frame...from frame to engine...from engine to body. had to re-do all grounds when i hooked up pro-jection. i will grind off to clean metal, apply dialectric grease, bolt through, and paint over after connected for winch to frame ground.
     
  7. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    HEHE! Get a little ground happy there Robby! I had to do something similar, just not as well as you did, to my Jeep for the stereo and amps. They are notorious for having bad gronds.
     
  8. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I did the same think on my wifes 79 chasing an electrical problem with the gas gage. I ran a ground strap to the fram rail and problem went away.
     

Share This Page