Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Windows 98 Registry editing?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by jarheadk5, Oct 2, 2005.

1. jarheadk5

jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

I'm a noob when it comes to Registry editing. But I'm sure I've got a bunch of crap in it from old software I've since uninstalled. Is there a point-n-click Registry editor available that keeps the un-informed (like me) from F'ing things up badly?

BTW, this is the original OS install from '99 when the comp. was built for me...

2. readymix

readymix 3/4 ton status

just back up the registry to a floppy then use REGEDIT

3. Desert Rat

Desert Rat Fetch the comfy chair

Better explain CMD to him first.

4. jekquistk5

jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

You don't need too.

Start->run->regedit

Its that simple then make sure you make a backup. If not you are screwed.

5. Desert Rat

Desert Rat Fetch the comfy chair

You are right, I was thinking of ipconfig, which I have to do all the time on my laptop when travelling. Release, renew, release, renew...it's a vicious cycle..... :mad:

6. Tom E

Tom E Registered Member

Ace Logix makes a Registry TuneUp that works very well and has a 30 day trial. If you unsure what something is in regedit you can mess your computer up. Trust me, I've done it before :crazy:
    http://www.acelogix.com/download.html

7. Inu-Hanyou1776

Inu-Hanyou1776 1/2 ton status

I agree with him. Don't use regedit unless you really, really know what you are doing. If you're a newbie, it's real easy to screw something up real bad to where the computer won't work and you can't get back online to get easy help. Get that program instead.

8. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

I would consider there being three options;

1. Format and reinstall everything
    2. Leave it and not think about it