Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Windows XP/ IE help

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 77crewcab, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    I had a house sitter while I was on vacation and come home to find all sorts of problems. But the most annoying is that he did hundreds of porn searches in the search/ address bar. I really don't care that it was done but it is driving me nuts that I can't delete the search entries so if I start to type something in the search window it has the drop down box giving a bunch of possible searches I might be typing and almost all the options are porn sites. Can someone please tell me how to delete previous search entries. I am using XP and Internet Explorer.

    Forgot to mention I have already cleared the history, cookies, temporay internet files and turned the auto complete stuff off but noe will remove the search entries.
     
  2. roadhawg

    roadhawg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    goto tools, internet options....click on the content tab, click on the autocomplete button and clear forms button.
     
  3. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Did that but it didn't do anything.
     
  4. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    If he looked at porn u might want to scan for spywear.
     
  5. roadhawg

    roadhawg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    i just noticed you said the address window, when i clear my history it takes the addresses out of the address window, if you have done that then you must have some sort of spyware doing that to your pc.... i recomment using spybot search and destroy its free and works pretty well. you can also try windows defender (formaly microsoft antispyware) its a free download from the microsoft website.

    Hope this helps
     
  6. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    just tested and tools - internet options - clear history

    Does clear what you want cleared.
     
  7. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    I have blockers for the spywear so no problem there but it is driving me nuts that I can't remove the search entries. I have kids around and just don't want them to get access to the sites by accident. Did the auto complete clear forms but it doesn't erase the search entries.
     
  8. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Guess I should be more specific. I can clear the history and the addresses from the address window. But when I go View>Toolbar>Addressbar it has a search box come up as part of the address bar. That search box is the only thing I can't clear out. It still keeps track of previous searches even when the autocomplete, history, cookies, etc are cleared. Is there maybe a way to delete individual entries? Like on the onl IE you could highlight the entry and do ctrl/delete and it would delete the entry.
     
  9. roadhawg

    roadhawg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    you must have some sort of virus or spyware because when i clear my history it removes all the previous searches from that search box you speak of. the only other thing i can think of is maybe your using the yahoo or google toolbar plugin in IE? if thats the case you may have to clear that through its respective options.
     
  10. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Okay thanks. i guess I'll have to have it checked for some sort of virus/spywear just to be sure.
     
  11. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Did the windows defender and it removed the search box entirely so that works for me. Thanks!
     
  12. PhoenixZorn

    PhoenixZorn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Allis, WI
    99% of search bars in Internet explorer are spyware themselves... Get Google Toolbar... fix that crap where it starts... and don't let anyone else install extra toolbars...

    Secondly, www.getfirefox.com. Go there, download it, install it, and never us IE again except for windows update stuff. I just sent an e-mail to my family with a bunch of IT tech stuff included... if you want my e-mail forwarded to you, PM me with your e-mail address...

    Things I sent with the e-mail include:

    • Symantec Anti-Virus Corporate Edition - I use this because it is the best in security, memory usage, and never goes out of date... Do a virus file update after install, and it's as good as the newest version or better.
    • Sygate Personal Firewall Pro - Nothing, and I mean NOTHING beats Sygate... it's a bit hard to use at first, but will definitely save you from attacks later.
    • Mozilla Firefox - It's free, so you can get it from www.getfirefox.com.
    • Mozilla Thunderbird - It's free too... there's a link to it from the Mozilla page at www.mozilla.com
    • Gaim - Multi-platform instant messenger client... replace AIM with this or Trillian.
    • Ad-Aware SE Professional - Best Anti-Spyware protection available... get it, use it, and never deal with spyware again...
    I have many other utilities that many of you would find useful... some are freeware, some are not, but I am more than willing to give you links to sites where these things can be paid for and downloaded direct from the manufacturer. Send me a PM with requests for a type of software, and I'll see if I have something that will help you.
     
  13. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    :haha::haha::haha::haha::haha::haha::haha:


    for the record, adaward was proven to have taken bribes in the past from spyware makers to excuse their spyware.

    and sygate firewall was great, until sp2 came out and windows firewall started blocking by default. for a home user there is no need to risk the additional trouble of a misconfigured firewall (remember you will be the one gettsing calls when thunderbird updated and now is magicly blocked by sygate) just out of spite towards windows firewall ... just cause it says windows on it.
     
  14. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I had never heard that. Not to hijack but what do you suggest for spyware?
     
  15. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    windows defender seems to keep most things out, but as I'm sure you know, a level head a little know how are the best defences.
     
  16. Leper

    Leper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    4,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas Baby!!!!
    I have used all that have been talked about here. Adaware does a good job, as does Spybot v1.4. Spybot has the tea-timer function that is a blocker also. Recently I have been using Ccleaner(crap cleaner) it works so well that spybot and adaware rarely find anything after I run Ccleaner.I recommend Ccleaner. When you install it I would suggest you uncheck the "empty recycle bin" box if you ever put things in there that you might want back.

    Oh its www.ccleaner.com I believe.
     
  17. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

    looks like a pretty good program, should be noted though that its NOT anti-spyware, but a system cleanup tool. empties temp folders and cookies and such (cookies are probably 80% of what you see when you run adaware).
     
  18. 77crewcab

    77crewcab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Thanks I'll have to keep those in mind for later, at least for now I got things cleaned up.
     

Share This Page