Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

windows xp install pro help

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by DUKE, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. DUKE

    DUKE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Posts:
    879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport Iowa
    okay i am the oem version of win xp professional. I have a new system 40gig hd 256bm mem 1gigcelleron proccessor. anyway for building it myself it has gone really well. Untill the windows install. As i install i keep getting these errors, like "can not copy file " " enter to try again Ecs to skip". I natural hit enter. sometimes it works sometimes it promps again "the file setup is trying to copy dose not match windows image. if you are using the windows xp cd make sure the cd is in the drive. If the cd is in the drive there may be an error on the cd."
    well after a few skips it can not load any more and gives me a memory management error. I have turned off all the showdowing as it ask.
    Microsoft dosent offer support for oem (well they charge) and the only thing tiger direct will offer is a new cd. any ideas? email or pm
    or post.
     
  2. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Bad cd, I've had this happen a dozen times, only when I'm using a cd copied on a certain burner at work. If I switch to a different cd, the errors go away.

    What do you mean OEM? That usually means it shipped with a computer, not a retail off-the-shelf version. If so, how are you getting a cd from tiger of it??
     
  3. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Also a dirty CD .. Had it happen a couple times on 98 installs but not yet on a XP Install
     
  4. DUKE

    DUKE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Posts:
    879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davenport Iowa
    Hmm okay.
    I just got it through the site
    web page

    Microsoft said that it was legit. so did tiger. ??
     
  5. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Wow, I was just on the phone with MS asking if I could sell my unopened copies of Win98 with a cheesy piece of hardware, and they said no way!!

    That looks like a pretty smokin' deal, though.
    I'd clean the disk like Dan said or get a new one from Tiger.
     
  6. NEOMASTINO2U

    NEOMASTINO2U 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Posts:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lynnwood, washington
    check your disc and try a new one if possible,if still having problems it could possibly be the harddrive even though it is new it could have a bad sector in it, it happens, i had it happen to me and had to take the other hard drive back and get another one took me two days to figure out the cd wasn't the problem, got a bad hard drive.
     
  7. trailblazer87

    trailblazer87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Posts:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madera, CA
    I ran into the same problems and it was caused by bad ram.
    The memory management error is the giveaway. Try a new stick of ram, or if you have more than one try each of them seperately. Good luck, and I hope it helps.
     

Share This Page