Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Windows XP multi user help

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by zcarczar, Mar 25, 2003.

  1. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Ok as I sit here Im trying to figure out how to hack XP into only letting me have the permission to reboot the computer. It kind of pisses me off when I have things running and my little sister comes over and reboots the computer and fawks it all up. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif BTW this is on Windows XP home edition. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Set the screen saver for password protected.. When it kicks on only the person with the password can use it..
     
  3. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    I know about that but I have to be able to let everyone be able to use this computer. If I dont everyone gets pissed off at me for "hogging" the computer.
     
  4. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    There's a policy for this in XPpro I think. XP home, I have no idea.

    Try typing "gpedit.msc" at the run line and see if you get the policy editor. If you do, look under user or computer settings, down under security for something to do with rebooting and what groups are allowed to.

    If I weren't on vacation, I'd prolly be on my XP laptop right now and could be a better help... Sorry!
     
  5. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I dont think the home is setup for serious multiuser accounts. Go into control panel and see if there is an icon called "Users" in there you can make new accounts and set permission levels and stuff. Dont know much about home though as I've never used it.
     

Share This Page