Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

windshield wiper delay control

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Casey 86K5, Jul 31, 2000.

  1. Casey 86K5

    Casey 86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brownsburg, Indiana
    I have a windshield wiper delay control box I have been wanting to install on my Blazer for a while, but have no idea how to wire it up. I dont have any instructions or wiring diagrams. The box has six wires coming out of it (blue, white, yellow, orange, black and red) I think I know where the black and red ones go, but what about the others. Can anyone help me?
    thanks
     
  2. Todd78/87

    Todd78/87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haines, Ak
    Must be an aftermarket one? The one I bought (original) just pluged into the back of the switch and then the original harness pluged into the back of it. Super easy....

    Todd 78/87[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Alaska Bound
     
  3. Casey 86K5

    Casey 86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brownsburg, Indiana
    It is an aftermarket unit- did you get yours from the dealer? How much did it cost?
     
  4. Todd78/87

    Todd78/87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haines, Ak
    I got mine from Year One, I think,,,,,, it was about $32.00 or $39.00,,, something like that,,, I would look it up, but am packing up the house to move and have no clue where stuff's at. [​IMG]

    Todd 78/87[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Alaska Bound
     
  5. Eric78K5

    Eric78K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I have the same one in my 78 Todd. I'm pretty sure it was $32.
     
  6. blazer72

    blazer72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    I looked and found the circuit to build one after seeing this post very simple very very cheap!! [​IMG]

    I understand the jeep thing I drive a BLAZER!!

    Ken
     
  7. Todd78/87

    Todd78/87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haines, Ak
    Oh yeah,,, I forgot about that,,, someone posted it shortly after I bought and installed mine. Them the breaks, hu?[​IMG]

    Todd 78/87[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Alaska Bound
     
  8. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    I have the schematics for wiper delay...several in fact...I will gladly put them back in for those that would like to try to build their own...
     
  9. Casey 86K5

    Casey 86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brownsburg, Indiana
    Do you have a schematic that would work with the unit I have? Or would it be easier to just make my own circuit.
     
  10. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    I think it would be tuff to figure out your unit without seeing it in person. Eagle's schematics all look good too me, but the factory "module" sure does plug in nice and is hard to beat. I have picked up the module and adjustable switch out of a salvage yard for as little as $10.

    Michael [​IMG] http://jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm
     
  11. beefcake83

    beefcake83 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2000
    Posts:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Todd - On your factory plug-in one, how do you activate the intermintent function with the original dash switch after the install? Gotta get this for mine. Do you have a part number? I tried to look it up in my LMC catalog and no luck. What year truck do you have? - Gary

    Gary Graham
    '83 GMC Jimmy 350 'Beefcake'
    Eielson AFB, Alaska
    Metallica & Mountain Dew
     
  12. Todd78/87

    Todd78/87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haines, Ak
    Gary,,, I bought the intermittent control switch from LMC,, but they don't have the "control module" that you need to go with it,, got that from Year One,,, I would look up the part #'s for you, but they are all packed up,, getting ready to move. Oh,, I've got a 78.

    Todd 78/87[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Alaska Bound
     
  13. Todd78/87

    Todd78/87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haines, Ak
    Gary,, just found an LMC catalog in the basement,,, #36-0671 for the Washer Switch w/ Intermittent Wipers $29.95. That is ONLY the switch that goes in the dash,, you still need the control module from Year One.

    Todd 78/87[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Alaska Bound
     
  14. blazer72

    blazer72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    Eagle86K5 I could only find one and would love to see what you have befor I start

    I understand the jeep thing I drive a BLAZER!!

    Ken
     
  15. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    ok here they are...I have more...
     
  16. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    another one...

    Actually I have thousands of circuits that can be used in our Blazers. Auto dimmer for the headlights...alarms...kill circuits...just ask...
     
  17. blazer72

    blazer72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    Im asking I,m asking what all do you have, the auto dimer mit be fun to play with auto head lites would be a nother one to play with How about the auto down thing for power windows? Saw cercit that read the colent temp off the temp sender for tha gage, had a pot on it set fan on point and controled a coolent fan that way with out its own sender, any thing like that????

    I understand the jeep thing I drive a BLAZER!!

    Ken
     
  18. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    Auto down for power windows???????

    It has to be a joke....last thing I would want is my windows to drop down on their own...

    Where do you park your K5?
     
  19. blazer72

    blazer72 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2000
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KCMO
    I didn't want power windows but I had to find some way to get the things to go up and down, it seams the the OEM handel hi the roll bar if the door was shut!!!

    I understand the jeep thing I drive a BLAZER!!

    Ken
     
  20. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    A little explanation goes a long way....

    There are several aftermarket power window kits available that can solve your problem...LMC offers a kit for 149.00
     

Share This Page