Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Winshield replacement

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by sandy78, Dec 24, 2003.

1. sandy78

sandy78 Registered Member

This must be really easy because I did a search and didn't turn anything up. But since I've never done it before, how do you get a used one out of a donor truck and then install it in yours? I appreciate any info.

2. DougK20

DougK20 1/2 ton status

Very carefully! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Glass gets more brittle with age. The risk is not worth the savings. Have a shop drop one in for under a $100.

3. R72K5

R72K5 Banned

you will need the following items:

round exterior type of phone cable, or similar type cord,.

dish soap or laundry detergent,

and a tube of the black sealer for windshield rubbber from local glass store, its only like 5 bucks a tube'

and one or two extra ppl to help you push and such to get replacement glass installed around the inchweld of windshield cab opening

the cord will pull the inside weatherstripping over the pinch weld all way around, set bottom over pinchweld first and then work your way around from bottom up going to left and to the right with end sof the cord haingin inside of cab at bottom center of windshield

soap will make it all slip easy

take your time

once you have done this you will always know how,

and windshield are harder to break than you think if is in good shape, just dont push in wrong place, if there is any chip anywhere around edge of glass, then it might break easily

4. darkshadow

darkshadow 1 ton status