Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

winter project

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by therover87, Oct 21, 2001.

  1. therover87

    therover87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    i have an 87 k5 and its an original 350 with 146,000 and for the winter i am either going to buy the zz4 motor or build a motor, what would you guys, if i do buy or build a motor i am going to get the edelbrock multi point efi kit, but if i buy the zz4 and i take off the manifold and put the efi kit on would there be a problem hooking everything up to the original wiring harness, hopefully you guys could help me out, thanks.
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    If it were me, I would go with a stock GM TPI setup. If you are absolutely serious, I can perhaps hook you up with a guy that pulls these units all the time.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  3. Zepplin

    Zepplin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Posts:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay City, MI 48706
    I would try to get a complete wiring harness from a donor vehicle, get a new harness from painless wiring or if you do the Edelbrock efi route I think they have a complete wiring harness for it. But, I'm not sure how complete it is ie. how it ties into the vehicles existing wiring harness.

    I would build the motor yourself if you have all winter to do it.

    My .02 cents

    74 Blazer
    Zepplin
    Check out my Blazer
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/zepplin1976>http://community.webshots.com/user/zepplin1976</a>
     
  4. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    How much does he usually sell them for?

    -Mikey
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/captcrunch</a>
     
  5. Rob 85K5

    Rob 85K5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    My brother put a ZZ4 motor into his 85 Monte and opted away from any factory tpi setup. The reason is the tpi can't keep up with that motor, it limits its performance. The ZZ4 was dyno'd with a holley 700 double pumper. Try an aftermarket kit for high hp or something like a 800cfm Q-jet. There's also the 350 Ram Jet for some more cash, but if you're spending the extra for an FI setup it may be worth it. Or for a torque monster in lieu of HP go with the 383 stroker.
    my .02

    Rob 85K5

    <font color=orange>Bleedin' Chevy Orange</font color=orange>
     
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    The TPI IN STOCK FORM can't keep up with that motor. There are TPI'd setups running 10's, and there are STOCK TPI units running 13's and 12's, on motors from 350 to 385 (that I know first hand of) You don't throw a cam with .600 lift in a motor that's in a car with 2.29 gears and an automatic made for the street do you? You gotta match the components to the application. Probably cheaper to toss the carb on there, but thats like taking a jet and putting propellers on it : )




    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     

Share This Page