Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Wiper/Washer Conversion

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Blazer_Boy, Apr 16, 2001.

  1. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    Is it possible to convert the 78-84 stlye wiper and washer in one unit on my '82 to the seperate 85-91 stlye units. The 78-84 washers never seem to stay working and this seems a little easier and cheaper than having to replace the whole unit when I have the 85-91units I took off a junked Suburban.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Anything is possible with some work. All depends on how the washer is run on the old one. New one is what, two wires? Has to be one wire going to the old pump to "tell" it when you have depressed the wash button, you would just have to run that to the washer pump, and a hose up to the squirters. You are right, the in tank ones are easier to change, and more reliable to boot. Sorry I don't have specifics on the change, I used a newer wiring harness so i didn't have to study up on the washer circuit.


    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  3. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    Hmm, looks like Im gonna have to try some different connections. Right now I've only tried unplugging the white and pink wires off the washer motor on mine and hooked it to the in tank pump, nothing. I hooked the pump up to 12 volts and it does work.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Do you have a voltmeter? Just hook a lead up to one of the wires and push the washer button. I'm just leery of putting voltage to any old wire...wish i had the service manual (or Haynes even) here so I could tell you what color to look for.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     

Share This Page