Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

wires that go to my AC compressor

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mccomas, Feb 11, 2004.

  1. mccomas

    mccomas 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Posts:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, NC
    there are two wires that go to my AC compressor - black (ground) and green (positive signal wire). the mount for these wires are on the side of the compressor but have no markings. which wire goes on top; green or black?

    not sure if i am getting them mixed up. when i have the wires disconnected, i can measure positive voltage on the green when my AC is turned on. but when i connect the wires to the compressor, i do not get a voltage reading; however, the compressor is turning.

    i am trying to wire my electric fan so that it comes on when my compressor engages....
     
  2. dave_90_blazer

    dave_90_blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melvindale, Michigan
    are you asking how it plugs in?

    it doesnt really matter, all the compressor clutch is is a electromagnet


    if you are asking how to hook it up to your fan, use the compressor wire(power) to trigger a relay
     
  3. mccomas

    mccomas 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Posts:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, NC
    thanks for the quick response - i now understand that it does not matter which wire goes where as long as they are both connected.

    my problem is that once the wires are hooked up to the compressor, i do not get a voltage reading off of the green wire. i want the green to trigger the fan relay but it will not trigger if there is no voltage present. when i disconnect the wires, i can measure voltage at the green wire so i know i am getting a good signal from my pressure switch. what i am not understanding is why i do not get a voltage reading when the wires are connected to the compressor. the compressor is engaging...
     
  4. lukebaby1

    lukebaby1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    So, why not wire off of the pressure switch connection? /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  5. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,082
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    If the compressor is engaging, then your pressure switch is good. Since the black wire is tied to the engine block, the green wire must be hot.
     

Share This Page