Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

wiring 220 into my garage?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Thumper, Dec 18, 2004.

1. Thumper

Thumper 1/2 ton status

I need to add a 220 cct into my garage. Is there any guides online to show a guy how to do it yourself? Ive been told by a home inspector that the panel will handle it, and that its easy to do but I need a bit more guidance.
    They tell me I need to buy two breakers to add to the box, and some wire.... ya, lotsa help they are. How do you hook in the breakers? Is there a wire diagram I can follow? I am an aircraft electrician, but Ive never done any house wiring since school 22 yrs ago!
    Thanks
    Mike

2. camiswelding

camiswelding 1/2 ton status

mike...
    go to home depot and buy their book on electrical wiring and buy "Uglys Electrical references"
    between these two you can wire anything

I built a house and shop ...ran wiring from the pole underground ..did multiple panels.. designed for solar and heavy electric...
    they all passed with flying colors...
    I had never done it before... so you can do it...

cam

wiring one or two circuits for 220 welders/air comp should not be daunting...
    your building code might require a permit... I wouldnt get one and would disclose same upon home sale... local govt already gets enough of your money

3. kevcarr59

kevcarr59 Registered Member

220 Wiring..

mike

Like the others have said it's pretty easy... Just a few little hints that people don't tell you... If the panel is in the building your wiring, that's fine ...if not you may want to use conduit.. size it next size larger than you think you need... it's a lot easier to pull wire through the larger size..