Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Wiring ? 350 Turbo to 93 350TBI

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by 70jimmy, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. 70jimmy

    70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Posts:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    Sorry if wrong forum:o I am putting a TBI 350 out of a 93 Suburban and want to mate it to the Turbo 350 currently in the rig. What issues will I have and is there a special harness or something to make the TBI computer read the tranny properly since it is not the original 4L60E. Thanks
     
  2. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    There's nothing to wire up on a TH350 but unless you burn a new chip to disable tranny functions I would imagine you'll get trouble codes. Don't forget to make a vacuum source from the manifold for your modulator.
    The P/N signal to the ECU comes off your steering column I believe but that may be worth checking up on.
     
  3. ccj8008

    ccj8008 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Polson MT
    Manual

    I swapped a turbo 400 in place of an NV-4500 behind my 90 454. This engine originally had a manual transmission. I used the same vacuum tap that my power brake booster was using. Do not use the throttle body nipples as your vacuum source. The trans shifts fine. I would guess that the 4L60E needs the ECM more than the ECM needs the input from the 4L60E.
     
  4. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'm not running anything to my TH350 Duane and it runs fine. The only thing you'll probably end up needing is an aftermarket adjustable kickdown cable.
     
  5. 70jimmy

    70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Posts:
    5,961
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    Well ordered a bunch of stuff from Howell today for my swap. Got a new harness, computer, chips to eliminate VSS and EGR and Tranny, ESC Module, TBI external fuel pump and a service manual.

    Kind of like jumping off the high dive. Just close your eyes and jump in!:o
     
  6. Cricket

    Cricket 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Watch out for the rocks. :D
     

Share This Page