Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Wiring Diagram needed

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Hossbaby50, Aug 2, 2004.

  1. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    I need the wiring diagram from an 85 K5. I specifically need the diagram of the wires to and from the ignition switch.

    What wires does the ignition switch turn on? Thanks

    Harley
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    The ones I have in the tech forum don't have what you need?
     
  3. doctor4x4

    doctor4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Posts:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I have a factory service manuel but it no way to scan then load then send
    so what exactly is the problem
    It will help alll of us help you :-)
    (I .E.) the purple green and yellow wire is cut and i dont know were it goes
    OR ??????
    If i or nobody respondes here feel free to pm me
    and on that note BTT 4 ya:-)
    R
     
  4. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Problem is my steering columns internals are FUBAR. I need to bypass the ignition switch so I can start my truck and get everything else to work too. (guages, accessories, radio, brakelights, etc) I need to know which wires I need to hotwire (and put on toggles) so I can get the things to work.

    MuddyTazz, I will have to look at the diagrams in the tech area. I wasn't aware they are there. Thanks

    Harley
     
  5. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    If your wiring is all good why not just replace the ignition switch? The turn signal wiring is separate of the ignition wiring. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    The inside of the column is FUBAR. There is broken metal bars, broken plactic pieces, etc. It is way more hassle then it is worth to try and figure out how to rebuild it to work then just rewire it.

    Harley
     
  7. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Ok, i follow you now. Your key will not activate the ignition switch due to the FUBAR steering column parts. So why not just unbolt the switch from the column and let it hang somewhere under the dash now you can easily activate the switch manually by hand without the key portion in the column. /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  8. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    That is one thing I am not sure about. Is the ignition switch the part the lock cylinder plugs into or is it the dual connector near the dash on top of the column? I don't know much about steering columns.

    I would rather rewire around the column then tear the whole damn thing apart.

    Harley
     
  9. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Harley , the switch isn't too hard to change if you try . Lock cylinder turns a rod that runs down the column to the switch . Its a bolt on . Column usually just needs dropped a little /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  10. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    The internals on the column are trashed. Changing the switch won't do anything. I pulled a bunch of little broken peices out of the column on Saturday.

    Harley
     
  11. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    That sucks . Last time I bought a column was 10 years ago for a Dodge and it was 25 bucks . Have you called around ? /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     

Share This Page