Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Wiring Harness???

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by skyblazer, Dec 11, 2001.

  1. skyblazer

    skyblazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Well once again I need some K5 wisdom. My wiring harness has been in a box for about a year. I've nearly got everything hooked up, modified, upgraded and working. However, I'm scratching my head about the small harness that goes into the firewall above and right of the fuseblock harness. Two wires go to a vaccuum controlled switch mounted on the intake manifold. It is connected to a relay under the dash. What does this system do? Also this harness has a heavy (10guage) red wire running from under the dash. My guess is a power wire running from the fuse block to something, but what? Haynes and Chilton have hidden the answers from me, please help!!
     
  2. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    The answer to that is simple..... "I don't know." But I will dig out the books and see if I can see it.

    John

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=)

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/albun31?&page=1>BLAZER PICS</a>
     
  3. skyblazer

    skyblazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thanks, I'm still looking myself. I actually went to a place here in Houston where they had some old Chevy trucks. No luck, each truck had been modified somewhere down the line and was missing those wires. I think I could 86 those wires and use the one hot wire (ignition controlled) for my electric choke (edelbrock).
     
  4. Leinie

    Leinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shakopee MN
    Sounds like the Transmission Controlled Spark System. This system only allows distributor advance when
    1) the transmission is in high gear, and
    2) The engine coolant has reached 82* F

    I'd scrap it!


    72 K5 CST X 2
     
  5. therobzilla

    therobzilla 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    It's either the TCS moduel or the Idle controler for the carb.

    It's the only two things that I can think of on the system that are additional adds to the main wiring harness.

    Rob
     
  6. skyblazer

    skyblazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ah ha! That must be it. The harness goes to the vac switch and then branches off to the H2O sender unit. Wont need that with the MSD mech advance. That takes care of that, anyone know what the 10 gu. red wire is for? I think it is plugged into the ignition switched part of the fuse block then runs behind the engine to something??
     
  7. Klef72K5

    Klef72K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    I just got done rewiring my Blazer and the only red wire I know of that is that heavy of a wire in the engine compartment is the altenator wire.
    Oh yeah, is there a fuse link on it? If so it goes to your junction box beside your battery.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg>http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg</a>
     
  8. skyblazer

    skyblazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Thanks, but I know I have that wire covered, because I cut it out and replaced it with a 4 guage wire direct to the battery from my 1 wire alternator. Anyhoo, everything electrical is now working so.....whats the problem if I have a few left over nuts and bolts and wires!!!
     
  9. Klef72K5

    Klef72K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Posts:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia City, Indiana
    Is the wiring harness a painless wiring kit? I have a really good wire digram that I could send you. Just let me know.


    <a target="_blank" href=http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg>http://wsphotofews.excite.com/031/rw/Jo/og/t488200.jpg</a>
     

Share This Page