Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Wiring up the KC's

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 78Suburban, Mar 12, 2006.

  1. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I think I'm gonna run all 4 off of one switch. What size relay should I use? their website's wiring kit says 40 amp, I guess that's a good size
    http://www.kchilites.com/store/Deluxe-Wiring-Harness-6315brwith-40amp-Relay-P113C83.aspx

    I'm also going to put an inline fuse about 2 feet from the battery. I guess 30 amp would be a good size? I'm going to run 12 guage wire.
    Anybody wanna share any ideas with me? Are there any reasons I should cosider using 2 swithces controlling 2 wires each, instead of what I'm planning?
    thanks,
    James :bow:
     
  2. shawnboy

    shawnboy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Posts:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada, eh.
    If you are going to run all 4 at the same time, you might want to consider running 10 gauge. 12 awg-20amps, 10 awg-30amps, 8 awg-40amps.
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You need that relay for TWO Daylighters. :eek1: If they're the sealed beam type, they draw 150 watts each. 150x2=300 watts/12 volts=25 amps. You can power two relays from one switch, then feed two lights from each relay.
     
  4. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I think they are only the 100 watt kind. So do I still need two seperate 40 amp relays, or can I just use one 40 amp relay for all of the lights? I guess using 2 seperate relays would allow me to use 12 ga wire instead of 10 though?
    thanks,
    James
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I would still go with dual relays. That gives you the option of going with even brighter bulbs later. 130 watt H3 halogens cost about the same as the 100 watt ones. :)
     

Share This Page