Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

WMA vs. mp3

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by mofugly13, Jun 16, 2006.

  1. mofugly13

    mofugly13 1 ton bucket of rust Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Posts:
    2,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I have to choose which format my Media Player creates when I rip a CD to my new computer. Windows says that WMA is superior quality with less disk space used. But, I need to be able to burn CD's in mp3 format so I can play them in my K5 stereo. If I rip the music to my comp. in WMA, will I be able to convert it to mp3 to burn it to a CD with Media Player 10? I know some of you computer savvy folks will tell me to download this program or that program, but when it comes to computers, I like to keep it as simple as possible.
     
  2. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I'd just stick with mp3 at a high bitrate (256k or higher - I do all my ripping at 320k). It's pretty much universal.
     
  3. fabjunkie

    fabjunkie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dallas Outskirts
    Just do it in mp3, they actually take up about 1/5 of the space, and you have to ge a certain program to convert from Wma to mp3, which is a pain in the ass. I just did a group from wma to mp3 and it took it all from like 14 gig down to 3.something gig.
     
  4. onlychevy6

    onlychevy6 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hockley, Texas
    I burn cd's all the time from my comp. and they are wma and play in all cd players. so far.
     
  5. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    WMA and MP3 are generally the same size. IMHO mp3 sounds cleaner when ripped at high bitrates, and its a WAY more accepted standard.

    WMA was Microsofts attempt at taking over digial music ... it failed.
     
  6. kyser_soze

    kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC Missouri
    I did the WMA when I bought my new computer. I now regret it.
     
  7. mofugly13

    mofugly13 1 ton bucket of rust Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Posts:
    2,813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Thanks for the replies, fellas. I'll just set my options to rip in mp3 format. I tried to swap my whole song collection from 200+ cd's from my old comp. hard drive to my new computer, but when I tried to play them on my new computer, no dice. Turns out, when microsoft rips a song to WMA on your comp, they also create a license that allows those files to play only on the original computer they were ripped to, major bummer, now I have to rip all my CD's over again.
     
  8. CustomChevy

    CustomChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Posts:
    4,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    uhm ... yeah there's that problem as well.
     

Share This Page