Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Woah!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by colbystephens, Dec 4, 2006.

1. colbystephens

colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

i just realized that tomorrow (dec 4) is the 6th anniversary of my mom's death. pretty wierd feeling. i can't believe it's been that long - it sure doesn't feel that way. it's not hard on me, as i've dealt with it, but it's a wierd feeling.

it was wierd when i graduated HS, moved out on my own, got married, etc for me to not have her be there for those things - particularly strange for getting married. we gave her an empty seat at my wedding tho, and claire put one of her boquet flowers on it when she walked down the isle.

dec. 4, 2000.
    i was working at this goofy little french restaraunt in phoenix/scottsdale/paradise valley called la madeleine on tatum/shea. it was 10:30 and i called home to have my mom come pick me up from work (i was 15 then). my dad answered, which was out of the norm and said he'd come pick me up - which was really odd. i just figured my mom was tired or something. anyway, it took dad a super long time to get there and when he finally did i jumped in his car and he told me we had to pray.

he prayed that god would have me understand what he was about to tell me in an appropriate way - iirc. then he told me that my mom had what appeared to be a heart attack and that we had to go to the hospital ER. i panicked - i remember thrashing around in the seat looking for something to hold onto, but not really - there were handles everywhere, but ofcourse none of them offered the security i needed. he grabbed me and after i caught my breath we were off to the hospital at 92nd and shea.

we hit every freaking red light on the way there - and there's a lot.