Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

would it make it to (and from) moab?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by vortec, Jan 22, 2007.

1. vortec

vortec 1/2 ton status

my friend has been hounding me, for years, to go to moab. his jeep, my '82 k5. gas cost is the first thing that keeps me away. it's over 1000 miles each way, and then there's the gas spent on the trail. just too dang much $$$. and, while i'm no expert on carbs, i'm pretty certain that going from 500 feet or so here in dfw, to 4000+ in moab, would really mess with the old quadrajet. it runs rich enough, anyway, once the temps get above 85 or so, here (so most of the year, in other words) have any of you guys from low elevations made that type of trip without rejetting or swapping carbs on the way?

my friend would be taking his 2006 rubicon, this time, but the last time he went, he took his '90 jeep with open difs. one dana 30 and one 35, i think. so, i guess my stock k5 with open 10-bolts (run 'em till i shatter 'em) MIGHT hold up and get me through. i would probably have 33x12.5x15 tires by then. rolling on puny 31x10.5s right now. they get the job done, but sides have seen better days. rock rash, etc.

i guess i'm just feeling a bit insecure about my (budget) rig, in this case. :o . i've actually been looking at zr2s and tacos, off and on, for the last few years, to get better mpg, even if the stock offroad capability isn't quite as good. i'd keep the k5, just not as a road-trip rig.

advice?

2. 1977k5

1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

Don't forget that you would be driving over the passes in the rockies. Assuming you take I-70, you will be as high as 11-12K feet. If you don't change your mixture you'd be lucky if your truck made it to the top of the passes at all, albeit at 25 MPH and puking black smoke.