Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

would this EFI system work?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by beater74, Oct 9, 2002.

  1. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
  2. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I dont see why not. Dont know if they will bolt to your heads though. Somebody here should know...
     
  3. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    Dont know if they will bolt to your heads though

    [/ QUOTE ]
    that would be important
     
  4. GMslave

    GMslave 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Flint, Michigan
    Unless you have Vortec heads, it should bolt right on.
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Yep, it'll fit unless you have Vortec heads. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif The angle of a few of the intake bolt holes changed slightly when GM started using the one piece rear main seals, but with a small amount of grinding you can modify the holes on the TPI intake to fit pre-86 heads. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  6. Mr.Chevy4x4

    Mr.Chevy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sims, NC
    Or, you can buy my '85 TPI base that will fit with no grinding and I can buy the Vortec base to fit my heads! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif


    Mike
     
  7. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color="blue">I would hold out for a speed density setup (90-92). It's much easier to install and tune, has less wires and relays, and doesnt have that cold start injector crap /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif. Also this guy seems to think his setup is worth more than it really is /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif. You need to machine the 4 center intake bolt holes for the different angle of the older heads and you need beveled washers (search on mcmastercarr.com) so the bolt heads sit flush when tightened. I have pics of how do do this if you need them /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  8. DieselDan

    DieselDan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    Wouldn't the MAF sensor FI system be alittle more forgiving of non-stock applications thus easier (than MAP) to "tune".

    /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
     
  9. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color="blue">No, speed density PROMS are 32 bit as oposed to MAF PROMS which are 16 bit, so theres twice as much range of adjustment.

    also MAFs are delicate and expensive (about $300)
     
  10. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    thanks biggray /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif yeh i think i'm gonna pass on this one
     
  11. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Very easy to change from MAF to SD by the way............... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  12. 87GMCJimmy

    87GMCJimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    It looks like you'll still need a fuel pump and and air filter settup. Setting up the fuel pump can be expensive if you don't already have a TBI truck. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

    Mike
     

Share This Page