Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

wtf do you do with broke rounded stuck plug?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bryguy00b, Nov 18, 2003.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    puttin new plugs in my s-10...first one broke of like nothing ...and now its getting rounded off from me trying to take it out so i stopped...wtf do you do now!!??
     
  2. ramjet gmc

    ramjet gmc CK5 Staff Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milltown NJ 08850 NJ sucks
    cry



    do you have the right size socket ??? use a 6 point
     
  3. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    yes right size..all the other came out fine..(broke first..but still came out ok) 6 point is what i was usin.. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
     
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    grab the next size down in metric and pound it on with a hammer, then just go ahead and take that sucker out and put the plug in a vise and get it out of your socket. What I always do when stuff starts rounding off.
     
  5. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    cool..ill go out and give it a shot...
     
  6. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    [ QUOTE ]
    ..wtf do you do now!!??

    [/ QUOTE ] Put the plug wire back on. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  7. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ok well i got that all taken care of thanx guys!! but now..when i start it all the dman thing does is back fire...it will crank and seem to want to start but it will just let out backfires..only thing i can think of is maybe the distributer is turned or something!? i followed the correct firing order on the dis...so thats the only thing i can think of.. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  8. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    ..wtf do you do now!!??

    [/ QUOTE ] Put the plug wire back on. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I'd just replace the other 3 and run on 3 cylinders. 3 out of 4 cylinders isn't too bad. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  9. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    You didn't pull the dist. out did you? because it could be 180 degrees off. sounds like you just got some wires backwards.
     
  10. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    sounds like the dist. is 180 degrees out, or you might have put the wires on the wrong spots. (not trying to insult your intelligence here /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif) i went to fix a truck for a friend of mine after he "tuned it up" he put the plug wires on 2 notches off from where they should have been. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i didnt touch the distributer at all but for pulling wires of it..it didnt move..unless the guy who had it befor me happend to move it!? guess ill just keep switching them around till its right!?
     
  12. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    must be 180 of...i double checked and checked again and according to the haynes manual..they are in the right order..so it must be the diss...ill get back to you guys..
     
  13. boggerless

    boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    22,728
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    dearborn heights, Michigan
    i nad a guy put a cam in my 75 monte 18 yrs ago, when he put the distributor in he set like a 74. when i put my headers on a month or so later i followed thw firing order like a 75 and had the same prob.took all night to figure out. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gifto /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  14. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    well guys i dont get it ive tryed every combination i can think of in my head that goes in the same rotation...all same results..
     
  15. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    Did you gap the plugs correctly?
     
  16. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    yeap..60 just like the book says..and i compared them with the plugs i took out as well
     
  17. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    OMG HELP MEMEEE im at my wits end!! nothing i mean NOTHING is fricken working!! i just dont understand it..i tryed all three firing orders for all 3 different 4 cyl engines these things came with...non of those worked..ive tryed it 90 degrees..180..and back to the same..what gives!!? and i know its got to be something to do with this cause the thing cranked over fine today befor..i highly doubt they are bad plugs/wires..dman i wish i payed closer attention to this befor i took the wires of!!
     
  18. 4x4Freak

    4x4Freak 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Posts:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Maybe you have them going backwards (wrong rotation) on the distributor.
     
  19. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Slow down, calm down. If you pull the dist cap off, turn the motor by hand and feel for the compression stroke by putting your thumb on the spark plug hole (exhaust stroke will not be as strong as compression). Then look at the rotor and see which way it is pointing. That should be the #1 on your dist cap.

    So that is the starting point. Put your #1 wire there and then hook up the rest with the same rotation and firing order found in your manual.
     
  20. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    OK..guys..i admint it..i am a dumb ass LOL...for some reason..since the plugs go in order 1-4 on the engine..i had it in my head the whole time that they went in order 1234 around in order on the dis!! wrong!! i found a post on the net that told the order...its like 1342!! thanx so much for all ur help though! /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif its runnin great now! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page