Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Wyotech

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Txchevy18, Dec 4, 2006.

1. Txchevy18

Txchevy18 1/2 ton status

Ok guys I know I want to do something hands on. Im 18 and I cant stand to sit at a desk for more than a few hours. Ive worked at my dads performance shop for a while but, that fell apart and im now w/my grandparents for the time being. I also worked an operator fo heavy machinery and an apprentice Mechanic. I really have an intrest for metal fab but havent had much of a chance to pirsue it. Im 18 and am sick of just living from job to job and kind of sitting in limbo. I graduated in the top of my class but, have never been to intereseted in going to a 4 year college.

I was planning on going to Wyotech but, Ive started to do a little back ground research and have started to find out a scary truth about most technical schools. Seems to be that they are great at recruiting but the promtional stuff is just smoke and mirriors. ALso found that most dealerships look at your diploma from them with out much notice! Im looking at droping close to 40k if I attend for the classes I want and dont wanna get the shaft.

I already know quite a bit but, I have learned it all the hard way. Would I just be wasting my time? I can already do most suspesion mods such as sfa's and ive also built a 4 link setup for a friend. Im pretty good with electrical and am now starting to learn more of the technical side of engines and tuning. But again these have also be trial and error affairs.

Yet finding an automotive shop to work in has been just about impossible. Ive also been offered a job at 4wheelparts off 610 so. In houston,Tx but, its 50 miles one way.:doah: The 8mpg k5 wouldnt help with the fincial stuff right now for that kind of a comute.