Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Xtreme 4x4 X4270H Cam

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by littleryno32, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    Is anybody using this cam in a sbc looking to build new engine wondering what to use? Any help would be great. Thanks
     
  2. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,996
    Likes Received:
    134
    It all depends on what size sbc, what heads you are using, and what the vehicle will be used for. If it is on a 350 and will be used in a truck for good all around power, that is probably a decent choice.
     
  3. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    1980 blazer 350 sb
     
  4. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    Stock heads
     
  5. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,996
    Likes Received:
    134
    Go for it :waytogo:
     
  6. yoshisv

    yoshisv 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hartsville, Tennessee
    Im using a XE262 on a TBI350 with bumped compression and stock heads. It has great off idle torque and throttle response. Also has a noticeable idle.
     
  7. littlejimmythatcould

    littlejimmythatcould 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    797
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Clovis, NM
    I'm using the 262H-11 and it's a pretty good cam with a steep power band, I like it, and hope when I move up in axle gears it will help put me higher up in it's power band. The advertised powerband on it is 1300-5600 but it never goes above 3600 rpm unless I was to totally wind out the motor. When it becomes a 'trail only' rig I will probably move up to the cam that your looking at. It also has a pretty noticable idle. If you get that cam let me know how it works out for ya.
     
  8. Smitty

    Smitty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Posts:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Crestview, FL
    I'm running this cam in my 56. My engine is a 383 with almost 10:1 compression and aluminum heads. The idle is rough as would be expected with this grind, but not so bad that the truck isn't streetable. The engine pulls strong but I haven't had it on a dyno yet for a fine tune and power check. I'm happy with the cam for now, but will probably go to a milder grind sometime down the road. If I'm not happy with something milder, then I can always put this one back in.
     
  9. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,118
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    should be a good strong cam.... do you want that much cam?

    I went with Xtreme 4x4 X4260HR
    that one is a hyd roller.. but I wanted power from ide and up.... I like it so far.. havent got the truck out yet as wife is expecting in 2.5 weeks :crazy:
     
  10. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    Thanks for the info !!! Just found out my block is 60 over with headers. Still looking for heads my heads didnt match
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2006
  11. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    Does anybody have vac. problems
     
  12. Smitty

    Smitty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Posts:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Crestview, FL
    I was worried about the vacuum. I went ahead and installed a hydroboost brake system before I put the engine in the truck. I also run a vacuum gauge and it reads around 17" at idle, so no problems there.
     
  13. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    what size stall do you run?
     
  14. yoshisv

    yoshisv 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hartsville, Tennessee
    Mine does not have any with the XE262
     
  15. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    im thinking i may just use the xe626
     
  16. littleryno32

    littleryno32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Willis TX
    opps ex262
     
  17. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I've been running a Rhodes Hydra-solid cam for over a year and have been real happy with it.
    Good low, mid and top end power. Pulls 19" of vaccume at idle.
     

Share This Page