Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ya know what sucks....

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by muddin4fun, Jul 24, 2001.

  1. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    When you find out you have a messed up hub BEFORE you have a chance to wheel it! WTF! Nick was following me and said that he saw the drivers side hub slowly spinning.

    I shall enact my warrentee!

    Don't mind me, I'm just venting...

    I've got a mind like a . . . a . . . what's that thing called?

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/muddin4fun79blazer/>http://www.geocities.com/muddin4fun79blazer/</a>
     
  2. J.R.

    J.R. Guest

    the joy of owning an older truck!! LOL

    BIG BLOCK MAN
    "MORE POWER"!!
     
  3. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color=blue>This is normal. When in 2WD with the hubs unlocked, the front driveshaft (along with the R&amp;P and axleshafts) does spin slightly from the oil being slug around in the transfer case. I can see my front driveshaft while driving (very well too, dont ask [​IMG]) and it does turn a little. If the front axles are spining slowly, dont worry about it, your hubs are not damaged. If anything your moving the internals of the axle around in the oil which is a good thing. </font color=blue>
     
  4. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    but she said her hub was turning not the driveline and that cant be a good thing

    77blazer see it at<a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333>http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333</a>
     
  5. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    I haven't run into this, but it seems as thought the hub locking unit shouldn't turn unless its locked. Sounds like the rotory motion of the rotor is giving off a little grabbage on the locking unit. Maybe you have it installed incorrectly, and it wont let the rotor spin freely, thus the rotor is trying to take it for a spin. But if you dont hear any grinding and such and it locks when when locked I'd not worry too much, but hey if its under warranty, why not. **shrug**

    Beer!!!! Its not just for breakfast anymore!!.[​IMG]
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</a>
     
  6. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    NP203 that are converted to part time do this pretty common. The output shaft from the reduction box is the shaft that the upper chain gear rides on in the chain section of the box. As the roller bearings spin some of that is transfered to the chaiin gear and the drive shaft slowly spins as you go down the road.
    As it was pointed out in the other reply it's normal on 203 cases. Spin the front drive shaft by hand and if both axle shafts spin you have nothing to worry about.

    It's not my damn planet monkey boy!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s>communities.msn.com/OffroadK5s</a>

    Grim-Reaper
     
  7. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    but she said the hub was turning not the drive shaft

    77blazer see it at<a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333>http://community.webshots.com/user/ssmith6333</a>
     
  8. muddin4fun

    muddin4fun 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Posts:
    5,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N Texas
    The hubs are under warrentee and are easy to put in, so why not! LOL! That one gave me some trouble when I was installing it. It didn't want to go on there. Warn will warentee them for me, so if it fixes it, great, if it does the same thing.....I dunno *shrug*.
    But I'll check the axle shafts just to make sure.
    Thanks guys!

    I've got a mind like a . . . a . . . what's that thing called?

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/muddin4fun79blazer/>http://www.geocities.com/muddin4fun79blazer/</a>
     
  9. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    Are all Warn hubs "fused"? When I did my ball joints I removed the hubs and both sides had an internal ring with ears on them that we're both broken to shreds. They were made of black plastic. I've seen some stuff about fuses that will break b4 any axle or diff parts break, but I havent done anything to break them I don't think.

    "My blazer may be slow, but it goes faster at higher speeds"
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     

Share This Page