Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ya think I need a new Tcase?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Brian85gmc, Sep 4, 2002.

  1. Brian85gmc

    Brian85gmc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canton, MI USA
    Hey there. This is my first post on these boards and it's a good one.

    with the hubs locked, if I put it in 4 high I get nothing. If I put it in 4 lo, it nocks the shift lever right back out.

    What do you guys think could be wrong? I'm really hoping I don't have to replace this thing.

    Thanks alot!!
     
  2. 95 Silverado

    95 Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Posts:
    467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central PA
    Does it work in 2WD? You can drop the rear driveshaft and pull the backhalf of the case to check it out inside. could be a shift fork problem.
     
  3. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,084
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    It could be just the shift linkage. You could try moving the lever inbetween where the ranges are indicated on the shifter. Try going betwee the 4H and N marks and see if you can find 4HI. If you can't move the shifter far enough back to engage 4LO that could be why it's jumping out.
     
  4. Brian85gmc

    Brian85gmc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canton, MI USA
    yeah, it works in 2 wheel.
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    It could be low on fluid or the shifter could be out of adjustment.
     
  6. Brian85gmc

    Brian85gmc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Posts:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canton, MI USA
    I sure hope thats all it is

    Just gotta get it working before winter.

    Plus, I want to show it to my MyBigBronco.com friends titled "My straight front axle swap". I have'nt told them I bought it yet! /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

    Thanks for the thoughts, I'll let ya know how it goes.
     
  7. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Damn another one of these Yankees /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
    I was born in Detroit.
    Nothing worng ith the 10 bolt if your running 33's and under and mostly street. You start hammering it off road and then you might start having problems. With you being in the rust belt 14 bolts and 12 bolts are a dime a dozen. If the 10 bolt gives up save your money and swap the axle. You can probably find a 14 with a Detroit for around $200. Might even find a matching front axle out of a 3/4 ton. Then your ready for 36's. If you have ambitions of bigger than 36's start looking for a front D60. Find a old K30 rust bucket plow truck for $500 and then your set with the strongest parts.
     

Share This Page