Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Year/make/model of truck with 1350 CVs??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by b454rat, May 11, 2006.

  1. b454rat

    b454rat 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Posts:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Binghamton NY
    I remember reading somewhere that Ford trucks had 1350 CVs in them, but can't remember what years, models, rating, etc. Any other truck that would have one??
     
  2. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    7,603
    Likes Received:
    556
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Cucv????
     
  3. thedrip

    thedrip 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Posts:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    try 99-03 superduty (f250, f350) 4x4's, I know they have the 1350 cv's.
     
  4. MEK5

    MEK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    The Ford F250/350s 99-up have the 1350 CV front shafts that are pretty long,bought this one off ebay for just under a hundred.It measures about 55" flange to center of joint,will make a great rear Blazer shaft shortened and balanced slip end hooked to a 14bolt.

    27_1.jpg
     
  5. mouse

    mouse 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Falls Mt
    Good find and price.
     
  6. b454rat

    b454rat 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Posts:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Binghamton NY
    Hmm, will have to remember that...Thanks!!
     
  7. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    will the flange on this bolt right up to a standard 205 front flange and a high angle drivelines 205 rear flange???
     
  8. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    7,603
    Likes Received:
    556
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    oops I'm about a dip **** guess I should have read a bit better CV shaft :doah: :doah: :doah: :doah:
     
  9. mouse

    mouse 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Falls Mt
    I am pretty sure that is what Jess uses for his 1-ton CVs, so yes they will bolt to his drive flanges.
     
  10. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    cool, thanks:D
     
  11. MEK5

    MEK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    You can use a 30/32 spline flat flange 205 yoke by machining the pilot OD down some,the Spicer 1350 CVs come with a couple different size pilot bores.

    The factory Ford ones have the larger bore pilots,I micd mine and came up with 2.672 but dont quote me on that # because I didnt clean it up real well before measuring.

    I have a Hi Angle flange/e-brake kit and the pilot is 2" so I would say they use the smaller pilot flange mostly.

    To use the Ford shaft on the rear of a 205 just take a flange yoke from a 208/241 front output and machine the pilot,drill out the threads and change the seal size.
    This will work on the front to if you have a 32spline front output in your 205,I have done this several times and have the correct seal #s

    This picture shows a converted yoke.......I think

    IMG00005.jpg
     
  12. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    hmm...interesting few questions...

    For the rear...
    If the ford pilot is bigger than why the need to machince the one on the flange..or am i misunderstanding something?

    Why the need to drill the threads out of the yoke? is the cv threaded?

    For the front...
    If your 205 already has a flange would that just take the same machining of the pilot?

    Now by pilot i assume you mean the ring on the flange that centers the shaft?

    Thanks alot!:bow:
     
  13. MEK5

    MEK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    The pilot on the GM factory CV flange is just under a 1/2" larger than the Ford 1350 CV flange.Out of the 2 Spicer 1350 CV flanges avaliable the Ford factory shaft has the bigger one but still smaller than a GM flange yoke has:ooo:

    The 1350 flange is threaded,that is why you would drill the threads out of the 32spline yoke if you were using it on the rear.
    In the front you could drill the threads out of the CV flange instead of the yoke.

    Yes,pilot is the centering ring:thumb:
     
  14. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    cool thanks alot...i got a buddy that works at a machine shop so that should help alot. one last question, if you have a 205 w/ a flange already you dont need a 208/241 flange correct, i can just machine the one i have?
     
  15. MEK5

    MEK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Yup,If your talking about the front output.
     
  16. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    Yup, thats what i meant. Thanks again man!:D cheap driveshafts for me...!
     
  17. MEK5

    MEK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Posts:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    After reading this again I just want to add that the Ford shaft that I bought is not good for a front driveshaft because it has a 3 1/2" diameter tube and will cause clearance problems most likely.
     
  18. b454rat

    b454rat 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Posts:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Binghamton NY
    No way that you can retube it for the front?? I don't really have the $500 for a 1350 CV shaft for the front of my truck. Once I get the lift/trans/t-case stuff figured out, I dont think I will need a CV in the rear. I will have to get some pics, but my buddy is running a 95 Ram RCSB with HP60/Sterling combo, IIRC 15" of lift on 44s with a stock rear shaft. Since I will be close to half that lift, I should be OK.
     
  19. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    i think im going to buy one, itll be ncie to have once i gte my doubler finished
     
  20. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    i just picked up a brand new f250 shaft for $140 shipped :) via ebay
     

Share This Page