Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

yet another 350 swap ?

Discussion in '1983-2005 S-Series models' started by bryguy00b, Dec 27, 2003.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ok so when you do the 350 swap..what are your choices of trannys? 400,700 or 350? and what if the truck was a standerd befor??
     
  2. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    any trans you want.. if it was manual before, weld up a cover on the floor and get an auto column or use a floor shifter..
     
  3. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    yea floor shifter is what id probobly use..what about trany mounts and all that?
     
  4. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    probably end up using the crossmember from the truck that donated the trans if you can get it, if not, buy the mount for the trans and fab up a crossmember from that..
     
  5. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    yea...ill look around, find someone thats done the swap and see exactly what they did..
     
  6. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    you can use the stock crossmember in the stocl position you just have to make the hole in the crossmember longer /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    really..cool! ive been thinking about hanging on to the 305/700 combo from my blazer...although i dunno if that would work with a 4wd tranny??..
     
  8. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    tranny has to be 4x4 output tail shaft deisgn, that goes for all tranny models, th350 woulds be easiest and pretty much most reliable and least costly.

    700r4 mount is in different place than 350 i know, but not than 200c, btu no 200c are 4x4 output from factory.


    good luck
     
  9. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    why does it have ot be a 4x4?
     
  10. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    [ QUOTE ]
    why does it have ot be a 4x4?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Probably because he thinks your S10 is a 4x4 rather than 2wd... Since you have a manual 4 spd now, your best option will probably be a T5, 5 spd out of an 86-94 S10 (found with 4 cyl and 2.8 V6 models) or an NV3500 found behind the 4.3L V6 (the nv3500 being the simpliest swap). For a stock 305 or 350 either tranny would hold up with the light weight and mild use in a 2wd S10. However, if you drive it like you stole it neither one will last forever.
     
  11. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    with a v8 in a s-10 ur damn right i would drive it liek i stole it! /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  12. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Then dont worry about what tranny will last because none of them will /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif Just find what is easiest/cheap to put in and get spares /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    haha /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  14. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I would go with a stout 700R4 in a truck that light. The lower first gear helps it launch as if it had much lower gears in the rear end, while the overdrive is nice for keeping the revs down on long highway trips. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  15. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    oh its gatta be a standerd.. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  16. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I break WAY too many parts when I drive a stick. I think it has something to do with not lifting my right foot as I slam the speed shifts at every opportunity! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  17. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ok, to save opening up another post..i have another question. my s10 is TBI 2.5, so if i put a carbed 305 in there, what would i do about the gauges ect. there all dumby lights..but would i have to put in a bunch of aftermarket gauges and just call it good? bypass the computerized ones?
     
  18. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    The wires for idiot lights go directly to the dash...the computer doesn't care about the idiot lights (except the check engine light)...but if you are putting in a V8 I would want to know how it is doing so I would either swap in another stock gage set with all the gages or do it all aftermarket.
     
  19. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i was thinking of just buyingg all seperate oil,temp,volts, rpm, and maybe take the tank out cause it would have to be a mechanical pump, maybe just throw a fuel cell in the back...this wouldnt happened for a while, i still need to rebiuld the engine yet..but just thinkin ahead..
     
  20. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    im gonna start on mine next week, need to change the cam (motor is not going in my k10 any more) and find a tranny to rebuild and i can through it together /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif
     

Share This Page