Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Yikes! Why you need to upgrade your shackles....(pics)

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by morphed86k10, Oct 14, 2002.

  1. morphed86k10

    morphed86k10 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno Nevada
    Had a great day of hard wheelin yesterday (Sunday) but my steering felt a little loose afterwards...I think this could be the problem:
    Shackle carnage 1
    Shackle carnage 2

    So once again I'm patronizing ORD /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  2. zakk

    zakk 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Posts:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose CA
    yup, i swapped mine out a few weekends ago, after harassing one mod here for his suggestion over the fone (thanks greg! /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif )

    Mine was cracked, didn't know it. Now my axle is move a bit forward a bit more and with the x-over, steering is great...

    now i just need to make time for the AGR powersteering pump /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Ouch! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  4. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Had the same thing happen to the Brown Turd K30 once. Just slapped on another spare shackle I had laying around. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  5. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    WOW! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif That looks like it was fun to drive home that way! I think I am gonna get my shackles soon!
    Bill
     
  6. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    wow now i feel pretty good about buying those hill4wd shackles.
     
  7. ken

    ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    And don't forget to upgrade those shackle bolts also!! I just broke my 3rd 1/2" grade 8 shackle bolt!!! This was with NO wheeling!! What do you guys think about running a 5/8" bolt directly against the poly bushings (presently it has a 1/2" bolt with the steel tube spacer, that allows the bushing to be shielded from the bolt). Other than that, I'm thinking of obtaining some higher grade bolts, perhaps grade 16?? A friend told me they use that grade on Caterpillar dozer blades... /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  8. BigMac

    BigMac 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Posts:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Dude, consider yourself lucky... I have some frame repairs to do because of something like that...
     
  9. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I have done this, the only thing you have to do is get lock nuts and don't overtighten the bolt just get snug.
    Never broke a bolt after that.
     
  10. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,072
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    I made my own out of some steel that is at least twice as thick as the stock shackles. They have 3 top holes so that I can adjust the front ride height in 3/4" increments. I use them with the ORD greasable bushings.
     
  11. efilnikufecin

    efilnikufecin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    flint,mi
    i used 5/8 in mine along with some 3/8X 1 1/2 cold rolled flat stock.never had any trouble.
     
  12. Mr.Chevy4x4

    Mr.Chevy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sims, NC
    The problem with this is that trying to lift your truck with longer front shackles really screws up the pinion angle. Not only that, but you can also make the truck a hand full on the road by screwing up the Ackerman(sp?) angle. It can become very twichy which isn't fun in a top heavy truck! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif


    Mike
     
  13. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> Ackerman isn't affected by shackles, it's the caster that's affected. Going a little buit longer is generally OK, but more than a couple inches I'd start getting a bit scared. However if you have the axle shimmed to aim the pinion up towards the t-case, the longer shackles will actually put the pinion closer to stock than it would be without them. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif</font color>
     
  14. CooknwithGas

    CooknwithGas 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Istanbul, Turkey
    Another clue that your shackles may need replacement is if your truck leans to one side. It gave me fits adjusting the body mounts trying to level the truck before I found a worn out shackle bushing. The spring was resting against the frame.
     
  15. ken

    ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    I know not to over-tighten the bolts. Had lock nuts on there also. 5/8" seems to be the way to go. I still can't beleive that stock GM uses 7/16" shackle bolts!!!
     
  16. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,072
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    you can also make the truck a hand full on the road by screwing up the Ackerman(sp?) angle. It can become very twichy which isn't fun in a top heavy truck!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    This must be why I have had zero problems with it! Others have had similar results. It's even possible that this change could make it handle better. Changing the front height by 3/4" (1.5" longer shackle) only affects caster by about 2 degrees. If the caster is right on in your "average" height, you can go up or down a little bit and still be acceptable. You just don't want to have marginal caster to begin with and then put 2" longer shackles in. In that case, you will need shims.

    It takes a lot more than shackles to change the Ackerman angle.
     

Share This Page