Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

York On a 350

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Depdog, Dec 29, 2002.

  1. Depdog

    Depdog 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    DISCLAIMER... In no way is this post a "For Sale" add for this bracket, it is for yall to look at, critque, and copy if you wish.

    Here are some pics of the bracket I made to mount a York on my 350 engine. This is drivers side and bolts to the head with 3 bolts and one brace going to the intake. Its 1/4" plate mostly and the York is bolted to a tray that slides inside the bracket for belt tension. It also has an ear on the bottom for the power steering pump bracket.

    Flame away on how to make it better

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Enjoy
    Depdog
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    Flame away on how to make it better

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Shouldn't it be Chrome with a type 'R' sticker on it?/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Nice work Glenn, I should be able to use that as a good head start for a bracket on my 6.2./forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Rene
     
  3. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> Not a flame, but a suggestion - make the tray that the compressor sts on adjustable fore and aft, so you can use different pulley combinations and still be able to line them up correctly. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Looks real nice! </font color>
     
  4. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Nice. ya should sell them. ill give ya 15 dollars... he he. i wish.
    keep up the good work.
    Grant
     
  5. Depdog

    Depdog 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    That would make it real heavy and add quite a few more bolts to it. Hmmm. Let me think about that.

    Depdog
     
  6. jcg

    jcg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Posts:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Is there enough room to slot the holes in the tray that the compressor bolts to so it could be adjusted fore and aft? Figure that way you could align the pulleys if needed and those bolts don't need to be accessible since you just set it once and leave it. That shouldn't add any weight or change the design unless you need to make the tray a little larger to allow room for the slots, but that still wouldn't be much of a difference... Just a thought /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> Yeah, I can see how it would increas the complexity, but it would also make it a real universal type kit so you could use it with lots of different configurations of pulleys. </font color>
     
  8. Waxer

    Waxer 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA.
    Why not just leave that to the installer to space out the bracket from the front of the head? Ofcouse you'd need to make that support arm adjustable, but that sounds easier. Kinda hard to say w/o having it in your hands, ya know? /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  9. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    sweet job! looks nicer than the cluster **** i made to sit to the side of my a/c. YES IM KEEPING MY AC&lt; I HATE THE HEAT /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif and so i will suffer with the york loose belt syndrome /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  10. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    should'a painted it yeller /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. Depdog

    Depdog 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Exactly what I am thinking about is making the tray slot adjustable forward and backward. Gotta look at some different things. Right now if it was any taller, it would hit the hood. I might have an inch to play with up, but the air filter would have to be moved.

    Depdog
     
  12. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,966
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Just wondering if you think it needs to be made of 1/4" or is that just what you had on hand?
     
  13. Depdog

    Depdog 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Well, its what I had on hand /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif, and the stock stuff is like 1/8" or 3/16", BUT it has lots of dimples and gulleys bent into it to add rigidity (is that a word???) I have to make do with flat plate and gussets. Also this one does not tie onto the header at all. Its a tad heavy, but I doubt I will notice on this big ole fat pig /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Depdog
     
  14. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    The mount I used is slotted for that. It uses an adustable tension pully to tighten the belt. The pump is stationary. Hoping to remount it sometime in the next few weeks.
     
  15. Depdog

    Depdog 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I was looking at doing a tension pulley, but could not find a source for one cheaply. I say somone elses on the site and this is how its done. I have a few ideas floating around in my head. Most of them revolve on making a sturdy enough mounting bracket first.

    Depdog
     
  16. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,966
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Just wondering because I think I have a good size sheet of 3/16" coming my way. Of course I still need the compressor /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  17. Butch

    Butch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2000
    Posts:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    That is a pressure switch on the inner fender isn't it? So I take it you have it set up to cut off and on automatically. Where did you get the filter that you are using on the intake?
     
  18. Depdog

    Depdog 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    The pressure switch is the big gray rectangle doohickey that is mounted off of the pipe off the tank. Its just a normal one for a home air compressor, I have it set to cut off at like 120 125 psi. It is in addition to the on/off switch I have in the cab. The air filter is a K&amp;N crank case breather.

    Depdog
     
  19. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    I still need to make a bracket for mine. That is all I have left to do.

    I have a york on a bracket (looks like a dealer install..I got it from a 73 truck) but it won't line up with the pullies on my truck (I have a short water pump like all 1st gens). It sits on top of the thermostat housing and has a pully to adjust the tension...I'll have to get some pics of it up sometime.

    Edit:
    I used a K&amp;N type filter I found in the "ricer" section of autozone clamped onto a york barb fitting off of a dodge van.
     
  20. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    It uses an adustable tension pully to tighten the belt. The pump is stationary.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    thats the way i did mine i used a tensioner pully off a big CAT motor we had laying around our shop
     

Share This Page