Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

York wiring & resorvior question, no luck in ck5 search....

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by uglychevyZZ4, Aug 26, 2002.

  1. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    ive tried search and the york writeup..
    my york has only one wire and the writeup / diagram dont even show what it is, hot or cold, or switched to what?i dunno what has to get fire to engage the clutch for air build up??, im a big wiring dummy too, that dont help /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif

    any input on this? and how often does the resorvior have to be filled too? /forums/images/icons/grin.gif
     
  2. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    that wire is for the clutch, just add 12v to it while the belt is turning a whala air /forums/images/icons/grin.gif
     
  3. jeffro

    jeffro 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scurry, TX
    If you have a one wire clutch, that's the hot one. It must be grounded at the case. I'd recommend using diode in the clutch circuit to spend the unduced voltage when you shut it off. Otherwise you will arc across the relay or switch.
    wire it like this:
    clutch wire|<- ground.
    This will use up the spike. Get it at radio shack.
     
  4. BigBadCad

    BigBadCad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    minneapolis, mn
    the single wire hooks up to a 12v(hot)switch(or set it up with a relay). The oil resevior has to have 1" of oil in the bottom. Bend a peice of bent wire to check the level.
     
  5. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    thanks ya'll, and welcome to ck-5 jeffro /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif either one of you know anything about using a relay? /forums/images/icons/confused.gif remember im the wiring dummy /forums/images/icons/grin.gif and Id like this wired for longevity, and safety /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif
     
  6. jeffro

    jeffro 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scurry, TX
    I emailed you a diagram I whooped up.
     
  7. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    i gotr it thanks, but i dont know what the symbols mean /forums/images/icons/confused.gif remember, im the wiring diagram idiot /forums/images/icons/grin.gif
     
  8. jeffro

    jeffro 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scurry, TX
    the only things not labeled are the grounds (upside-down trees) and the diode. Get the guy you buy it from to illustrate. I'm not sure how to explain it without hand gestures.
     
  9. NITRO

    NITRO 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frankfort In
    no wonder y my york was puttin oil in the air lines (note to self...dont let oil overflow out of resorvoir)

    NITRO
     
  10. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> For those that aren't aware, there is a fix to cure the blow by in a York. You can see how to do it here. </font color>
     
  11. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    Where does he get those wonderfull links /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif Ok folks, i dont need an oil fix though, i need to know wtf is a diode, why i need it, and why not just a fuse, and a switch? /forums/images/icons/confused.gif
     
  12. jeffro

    jeffro 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scurry, TX
    A diode is required because the coil on the clutch acts like an ignition coil. When you charge it up(turn it on) and shut it off the induced voltage must go somewhere. Switches and relay points make poor spark plugs and will fail prematurely. Ask the guy at radio shack what kind of diode you need and how to mount it. A diode acts like a check valve for electrons. A blocking diode will only allow current to pass one way.
     
  13. m j

    m j 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    a diode is an electrical one way valve
     
  14. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    so do i just put it inline as if it were a fusible link so it is an arch beetween the 12v+ and the york wire?
     
  15. jeffro

    jeffro 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scurry, TX
    Negative. You wire it between the hot clutch wire and the chassis ground with the little arrow pointed toward the hot wire.
     
  16. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    as stated before, it has 1 wire and 1 wire only, there isnt a +/- just a + wire.
     
  17. beater74

    beater74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    atlanta
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    You wire it between the hot clutch wire and the chassis ground

    [/ QUOTE ] HUUUU /forums/images/icons/crazy.gif i don't get it on my setup my yorks grounded by attaching it to the block.
     
  18. jeffro

    jeffro 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scurry, TX
    That is why the diode goes between the hot wire and the CHASSIS ground! Hire a GEEK to put it on!!
     

Share This Page