Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

you guys with hydro and histeer

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TorkDSR, Apr 2, 2005.

  1. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    what are the effects of the 8" travel ram on a 5" travel tierod?
    i saw the picks of the internal spacers... is that really necessary?
    thanks
     
  2. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yes, if you pit hydraulic pressure against mechanical parts, hydraulic pressure wins. You need to limit ram travel to 5" if that's all the further your tie rod travels.
     
  3. RustBuket

    RustBuket 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Posts:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    The hydraulics will either rip the stops off, blow a line, or burn up your pump trying. You have to limit it.
     
  4. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    how will limiting the ram internally keep it from blowing lines, or burning up the pump??

    wheather it's limited internally or by the stops, why would it matter in those instances??
     
  5. captaininsano

    captaininsano 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I am doing the hydro assist on my rig soon too, so it looks like a 6" ram is suffice then and don't need an 8"? I have been pondering this for awhile. I guess it would still need some kind of limit though right?
     
  6. miniwally

    miniwally 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado
    You have to limit the ram from traveling not limit the part it is pushing on.
    If you let the ram have pressure and you are relying on your steering stops the ram will litterally push through the stops and break sh$t.
    If you limit the ram it can no over travel the limits inside of it and will thus not hurt things.
     
  7. 90blzr

    90blzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Posts:
    3,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SO CAL
    Thank you!! Thats what I wanted to know in my post.
    So if I have 8.5" of tie rod travel, it'd be best to down size the stroke of my ram (9") to 8, so that the ram is the limiting factor/stop.
     
  8. miniwally

    miniwally 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado
    limit the ram to 8.5" travel if that is how much travel your tie rod goes thru. Being off by a 1/16" is not going to f things up.

    Ram should hit max travel right at or just before you hit your steering stops. If the ram wnats to travel just a hair more after contacting the stops that sorta ok.
     
  9. 90blzr

    90blzr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Posts:
    3,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SO CAL
    So all of these people running an 8" ram...is it that you only have 8" of tie rod travel, or is it that an 8" ram was all you could get?
    Wondering why mine would be 8.5" when most people run 8" ram...or do they adjust the steering stops out?
     
  10. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    You may have your steering stops set too far in. Try turning your tire with the hubs locked and at full lock. If it feel like they are binding then you need to adjust you steering stops out untill it no longer binds. If they bind you will break them REALLY quick. I have 8" travel on mine at the original mounting point.
     

Share This Page