Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

You Might Be A Redneck Geek If...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by dremu, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,963
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    your computers have Bondo on them /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif

    I'm building a RAID box based on a Mini-ITX motherboard ... basically, it's the size of four CD-ROM drives, but has six 250GB drives, and a whole 1GHz PC built in.

    [​IMG]

    The Bondo is covering up a hole for a floppy drive. Yes, it'll get sanded and painted... I got impatient and took a pic whilst it dries /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    So I think I'll be okay for space for a while... gonna start ripping my DVD's, but my 200GB of MP3's won't make much of a dent in it:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    that is impresive







































    to bad i don't know what it means? what does tb stand for i guess it means a [censored] load of memory
     
  3. thezentree

    thezentree 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Posts:
    7,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    it means his computer can kick your computer's ass. even if it is uglier /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  4. backcountry

    backcountry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif
     
  5. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,963
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    [ QUOTE ]
    to bad i don't know what it means? what does tb stand for i guess it means a [censored] load of memory

    [/ QUOTE ]

    TB = terabyte, i.e. 1024 gigabytes.

    It's 1,160GB, or 1,187,840MB (give or take /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif)

    It sounds crazy, but when a freakin' DVD takes over 4GB *per each disc*, and I wanna be able to record a coupla hundred, that space gets eaten up awful fast.

    -- A
     
  6. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    prolly so, my puter isn't very tough
     
  7. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,963
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    [ QUOTE ]
    it means his computer can kick your computer's ass. even if it is uglier /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I resemble that!

    Well, it'll look better once I paint it (Rustoleum textured black /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif) and AMAZING, put the cover on.

    -- A
     
  8. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Oh damn, that's cool. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  9. thezentree

    thezentree 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Posts:
    7,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    thats gonna be cool. if i had a desktop, i'd rice the hell outta the case /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

    can you say racing stripes, LEDs, and a Type-R decal? /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  10. Skigirl

    Skigirl 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Posts:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    So did you buy a 1.3tb drive or somehow have those 250gig drives appear as one drive?

    If you bought (or acquired) a 1 tb drive, does it cost more or less than a house in Silicon Valley?

    And seriously, if it's 1 drive, isn't the access time excessive? If not, why not?
     
  11. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    He has 5 drives each on being 250GB. They are combined, probably through software, to look like one large drive. I'm also assuming that he's using a RAID 5 configuration which would be the best compromise of speed, drive space and redundancy. If I'm correct with my assumptions then if one of his drives happens to go bad it can be pulled out and replaced with another drive and the data can be restored on that drive. The problem with software RAID is that it uses up a lot of CPU power. The reason the access time isn't excessive is because it stripes the data across all the drives. i.e. a small piece of data on the first drive, the next small chunck of data on the second drive and so on. That way each drive has time to get to the next spot it needs to be and is transparent to the user.
    I'm using a hardware RAID controller and I've got 250GB hooked up to it now and just about out of space. I need to add more drives pretty soon. All my drives are either 36 or 73GB but I've got enough to add up to 1TB. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  12. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    RAID is awesome. Next computer I build I will do a RAID 0 data-striping setup. I had originally thought about going SCSI, but I think RAID 0 will do just as well for what I use it for and be much cheaper. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    I would highly recommend RAID 5 instead of R0. You're not losing that much space with R5 and you gain data redundancy. The more drives you have the less space you'd be losing.
     
  14. 75-K5

    75-K5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Posts:
    5,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anderson, Indiana
    I'm not looking for redundancy, I'm looking for speed. Will a R5 give the speed increase that a R0 setup will?
     
  15. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    Depends on if you're doing a read or a write, but there are other factors also. When you do a write with a R5 a calculation needs to be done for the parity so that slows it down a little. It sounds like your going to be using software raid also. Is this for a video server?
     
  16. mudjunkie 82

    mudjunkie 82 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    11,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    What is your processer speed and bus speed?????????????
     
  17. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,963
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    [ QUOTE ]
    So did you buy a 1.3tb drive or somehow have those 250gig drives appear as one drive?

    If you bought (or acquired) a 1 tb drive, does it cost more or less than a house in Silicon Valley?

    And seriously, if it's 1 drive, isn't the access time excessive? If not, why not?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Six 250's, actually. Biggest single drive I've seen is a 400 at the moment.

    -- A
     
  18. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,963
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    [ QUOTE ]
    What is your processer speed and bus speed?????????????

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Oh, well, this one is not spectacular there. It's a Mini-ITX board from VIA; this one is a 1GHz Nehemiah.

    The reason I'm using it is that the motherboard is TINY -- it's 6 3/4" square and has video, NIC, IDE, *everything* built in. Cheap and crazy low heat / low power, they're great for applications where size is more important than computing horsepower.

    Umm, all kinds o' crazy stuff on the fan page.

    -- A
     
  19. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,963
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    [ QUOTE ]
    He has 5 drives each on being 250GB. They are combined, probably through software, to look like one large drive. I'm also assuming that he's using a RAID 5 configuration which would be the best compromise of speed, drive space and redundancy. If I'm correct with my assumptions then if one of his drives happens to go bad it can be pulled out and replaced with another drive and the data can be restored on that drive. The problem with software RAID is that it uses up a lot of CPU power. The reason the access time isn't excessive is because it stripes the data across all the drives. i.e. a small piece of data on the first drive, the next small chunck of data on the second drive and so on. That way each drive has time to get to the next spot it needs to be and is transparent to the user.
    I'm using a hardware RAID controller and I've got 250GB hooked up to it now and just about out of space. I need to add more drives pretty soon. All my drives are either 36 or 73GB but I've got enough to add up to 1TB. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah. I had hardware RAID before (Adaptec 2400 controllers) but I was limited to four drives per array, plus the cards are big (and not cheap!)

    This one I'm doing software RAID, so I can do all six drives on one array ... but I take a MAJOR performance hit on writes. I'm mostly doing reading, though (it's a file server), and I wanted small, and cheap. Remember, the *whole computer* fits inside the drive enclosure, and takes less power (power bill! heat!) than, say, most high performance video cards alone. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    -- A
     
  20. sickquad

    sickquad 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ma
    Definitely Needs the Type R sticker.
     

Share This Page