Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

your help is needed....

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by amm888, Jul 20, 2002.

1. amm888

amm888 1/2 ton status

hello! i'm brand new at this stuff and i need some advice about buying a blazer. there is a '76 400 ci, v8, 6" rancho, on sale down the street for $3,750. it looks good to me but i'm not at all sure what to look for, or what i should ask the seller about. is this a good truck? is that a descent price? any advice would be great!

2. bryguy00b

bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

well i would check for how many miles of course..one thing..CHECK THE FLOOR!! check for rot allll over!! mostly the rear tailpan/tailgate hing area..this is the number one spot on blazers that gets shity! /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif ask to take it for a spin see how she runs, ask if theres ever been any major problems...stuff like that..check the frame make sure its straigt...and no funy biusness goin on..body mounts..no broken springs..but if its lifted im guessing the springs should be failry new probobly....thats what i look at mostly anyway... /forums/images/icons/smirk.gif

Bryan

3. big d

big d 1/2 ton status

any and all service records would be great (ask to look at those) take a buddy with you and make sure the 4x4 works. wouldnt hurt to take it for a spin and go right to a shop you trust and have them take a look at it. its better to pay, say $40.00 to get it checked out instead of a $3,000 mistake ? /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif i agree with the other comments also. best of luck.

4. amm888

amm888 1/2 ton status