Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE Membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1986 K30 6.2 Diesel Truggy Build - "The Mule"

• Ok, so I finally decided I needed to do a build thread on my project truck.

(Yes I also know there is a Suburban build called Project Mule but this is just The Mule and I did not name it but I will get to that)

Quick description of the plan: Full truggy with exo, 42" pitbulls, full hydro steering lockers and a 4 speed atlas T case.

I will start off that I am fairly new to the CK5 community but not to off-roading. I previously had a built 1989 fullsize Bronco with 37s that was my offroad truck. But don't judge me for the Ford I am a diehard Chevy guy and always have been but the Bronco was free.

Anyway, the Bronco had a frame that was rotting away from the Maryland salt and could no longer be patched and I began to look for a new truck to build.

It just so happens that I am a mechanical engineer for a defense contractor here in Maryland. I found out that they were looking to thin their herd of vehicles due to maintenance costs. It was here I found this gem of a truck. A 1986 K30 6.2 diesel, turbo 400, 205 tcase, Dana 60 front and 14 bolt rear 4.56 gears winch bumper with 10K Ramsey winch with a pretty sweet flatbed. Best part was it had 16,000 ORIGINAL MILES and all the service documentation and very little rust!

It was sold on a silent auction and I got it for a very good price.
    Here are some pics from the day I brought it home.

[​IMG]

Gotta love the west coast mirrors

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Ramsey 10K worm drive winch that works! Had to buy a new winch hook.

[​IMG]

Note this is a later pic after I added the EGT gauge

[​IMG]

Yup all original Miles!!!!

[​IMG]

Only rust in drivers quarter and inner fender wells

[​IMG]
    Note the sweet broken leaf springs. Both sides were this way.