2003 hd /power brake unit ?

Discussion in 'Tow & Trailer' started by oatsk5, Mar 9, 2004.

  1. oatsk5

    oatsk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Posts:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Grand junction CO
    hope this is the right place ok i just installed the brake pig tail and now im trying to wire in the tenkosha sp? unit do the colors match accordingly red red blue blue so on /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif if this is the wrong place just let me know /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,380
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Build(s):
    4
    Hmm,IIRC:

    Red - brake switch
    White - Ground
    Blue - output to trailer brakes
    Black - power
     
  3. moneypit

    moneypit 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Posts:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    COLORADO
    They make a plug in harness. There is a spot for it in your panel. No wire splicing is necessary. Think it was 8 bucks? Got it at a RV place.
     
  4. oatsk5

    oatsk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Posts:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Grand junction CO
    the harness i got was from the dealer im just tryin to hook up the unit its self
     
  5. moneypit

    moneypit 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Posts:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    COLORADO
    Mine plugged right into the back of the unit. I got the tekonsha prodigy
     
  6. 6.2Blazer

    6.2Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    4,736
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you have the factory pigtail that plugs in under the dash, than it should tell you which wire is what. The brake controller should also have a pigtail with a wire schematic. Compare the two and hook up the wires based on what they are.........from my experience the color coding is different between the truck harness and the controller harness.
     

Share This Page