'72 K5 - AJ's Overbuilt Cruiser Build

  1. AJs72K5

    AJs72K5 blub-blub-blub-blub Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    South Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    AJs72K5 submitted a new Build:

    '72 K5 - AJ's Cruiser Crawler Build - all the little stuff

    Read more about this build here...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2017
  2. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada
    Cool.
    What axles are you putting in?60 and a 14?

    Getting rid of that tire+rim combo?

    Nice Blazer.

    That IS a cool touch from DIY4X
     
  3. AJs72K5

    AJs72K5 blub-blub-blub-blub Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    South Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    Doing a 3/4 ton conversion on the current D44 front and a 14FF in the rear. Plan to do a D60 front eventually, but didn't have it in budget yet.

    39.5 IROKs and 20" rims already sold.
     
  4. Yukon Jack

    Yukon Jack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Posts:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rose Hill, KS
    Looks like a great project. I put in a 3/4 ton Dana 44 and 14 bolt ff in my 70 K5 recently.
     
  5. makovai

    makovai 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Posts:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon city
    so what are you replacing those 20's and 39.5 with?
    wheels and tires..... got pics?
     
  6. AJs72K5

    AJs72K5 blub-blub-blub-blub Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    South Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    I don't have a pic of just the rims and tires :doah: They're 315/75r16 Procomp Extreme ATs mounted on 16x10 Procomp rims (they look just like Igor's)
     
  7. RGV72BLAZER

    RGV72BLAZER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Edinburg*San Bene*Online-The Real South Texas
    looks good :D get that 10 bolt yet...we pulled it out a couple of weeks ago.


    EDIT: just recognized the axle in the pic :D
     
  8. AJs72K5

    AJs72K5 blub-blub-blub-blub Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    South Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    We finally got a few hours to work on the truck today. So, we attempted to tackle the rear suspension. Should be easy right? Unfortunately we ran into some fitment issues with the shackle flip and had to do some mods. But, we got it all together. Next week we'll tackle the front suspension and start building the axles.

    Me griding off the factory shackle hanger. We ended up using a grinder, a torch, and an air hammer to get these boogers off. You gotta love power tools.
    [​IMG]

    Test fitting the DIY4X Shackle flip. Here's where we ran into issues. The bracket was about an inch off due to the rear gas tank strap. It affected both sides.
    [​IMG]

    Made a quick call to Kert at the office...never expected him to answer on a Saturday. That's great service. He wasn't aware of the issue, but mentioned that the 1st gen flips were designed on a K10, not a Blazer. Here's the solution: we cut about an inch off of the horizontal surface (goes under the frame). Kert said this shouldn't affect the integrity of the flip as we had plenty of material between the cuts and the mounting holes.
    [​IMG]

    Modified passenger side bracket installed.
    [​IMG]

    Modified driver side bracket installed.
    [​IMG]

    Alcan Springs, DIY4X shackle flip, DIY4X shackles, and poly bushings installed
    [​IMG]

    AJ's logo from the back of the truck
    [​IMG]

    More to come next week!
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
  9. Greg72

    Greg72 "Iron Sharpens Iron..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    16,842
    Likes Received:
    4,744
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Build(s):
    3
    Lookin' good! :waytogo:

    You've got to remember to wipe off the greasy fingerprints from the parts you photograph though..... that way it looks like an "easy swap" just like everything on those TV shows. The guys install their parts in khakis and never have a speck of dirt on their hands....and they never sweat. Oh, and every time they go to put a part into position, it fits perfectly on the first try and bolts right up!

    On a serious note, don't forget to take some photos from a distance.... it helps to provide perspective to the entire process. If all the shots are up-close it can make it hard to appreciate the whole "scene".....you know, the tools scattered everywhere...the old rusty take-offs in a pile somewhere, etc. Having photos of actual humans in the shots are great too, it makes the pics more personal.

    If I were you, I'd skip the SuperBowl parties and keep working! :deal:


    :usaflag:
     
  10. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,553
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Iowa
    Build(s):
    3
    For some reason I can't see the photos so I'll have to check this when I get home. Internet kinda sucks at the shop. Not here for surfin' anyway.

    I'll check back in a bit.
     
  11. Yobtaf

    Yobtaf 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    2,845
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    West Ham United! ®
    yeah I cant see your pics either. Earlier it was just the new pics in the last post, but now it is all of them.
     
  12. AJs72K5

    AJs72K5 blub-blub-blub-blub Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    South Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    The gallery where I store my pics is moving to a new server. It'll hopefully be up in a day or two :mad:
     
  13. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,553
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Iowa
    Build(s):
    3
    OK, I'll check back.

    On another note, Are all first gen blazer tank straps going side to side or am I picturing the issue wrong?
     
  14. Greg72

    Greg72 "Iron Sharpens Iron..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    16,842
    Likes Received:
    4,744
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Build(s):
    3

    You're picturing it correctly.

    It seems like a simple slot cut maybe 1 - 1.5" long across the top of the bracket is all that would be needed to make your existing K10 bracket a true Blazer part also. That would give the needed clearance for the forwardmost tank strap bolt that is currently in the way.

    When the photos are back up, I think the answer will be obvious.


    :thinking:
     
  15. AJs72K5

    AJs72K5 blub-blub-blub-blub Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    South Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    You nailed it. We cut a 1.25" slot in the bracket to clear the rear strap.

    Pics are back up, btw.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  16. Yobtaf

    Yobtaf 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    2,845
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    West Ham United! ®
    looks good.
     
  17. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,553
    Likes Received:
    1,967
    Location:
    Iowa
    Build(s):
    3
    OK, I see!

    AJ, you got nothing to worry about as far as integrity of the bracket. Fact, we started nipping the corners of the 73-87 flip some time ago. Basically it helps some with hitches put them on without running into issues.

    Looks like I'll be doing something similar with these.

    Thanks for the feedback and Sorry for the inconvenience.
     
  18. AJs72K5

    AJs72K5 blub-blub-blub-blub Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    South Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    Haven't made much progress on the truck. I had food poisoning, or something last week and could barely make it to work, much less wrench on the truck. That being said, the Axle Fairy showed up last week and built my 14FF. Seriously. The last time I saw the axle (the week before), it was sitting on a couple of jack stands and was just an empty housing. Actually...I store the truck at an auto shop. It was apparently a slow week, so a couple of the mechanics decided to build the rear end . I'm talking: put in all new bearings and seals everywhere, install the Detroit, and set up the gears. I showed up at the shop and saw this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    All that's left on the rear is to weld up the perches and shock tabs, and set up the brake lines and calipers. The shackle flip moved the rear axle forward about 1.5" - 2" (see the first pic). I can make most of this up with the perches I have from DIY4X. However, I didn't know or didn't realize that I'd need a different set of spring plates to move the axle to a different hole on the perches...the spring plate moves with the axle so the spring pin doesn't sit in the hole on the factory plate now (duh). Needless to say, I've ordered a of plates set from Kert.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  19. Yukon Jack

    Yukon Jack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Posts:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Rose Hill, KS
    Very cool that they did that for you - sounds like they need a 12 pack delivered late Friday afternoon!

    I also moved my axle forward a bit to center it when I put in the 14 bolt. I was able to drill new holes in my plates but if my axle would have been moved forward much more, I would have needed new plates also.

    K5's looking great!
     
  20. makovai

    makovai 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Posts:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oregon city
    Is that new disc brakes in the rear, or did you already have that?
    Whatcha doing for an e-brake?

    I really miss mine since i went to disc brakes.
     

Share This Page