Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE Membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ACDelco EP381 question

Discussion in 'The Engine Bay' started by possum70, Aug 15, 2016.

  1. possum70

    possum70 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    194
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mebane, NC
    So if I order the kit from rockauto will I still need a different pump?
    I'm also rerunning new fuel lines right now. Well, not RIGHT now. I had to come in a spray down with bug spray.:frown1:

    thanks,
    possum
     
  2. Kay86K5

    Kay86K5 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Posts:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    1,027
    Location:
    Emmett, ID
    Build(s):
    2
    Well, that all depends. I know you said it's a 78, but you didn't say what motor you are putting in the truck (or what injection you are installing such as TBI, TPI, LS, Aftermarket injection, ext...). It all depends on what your motor/injection system calls for in regards to fuel pressure. If it's TBI, then no, the pump should just be a normal TBI fuel pump. If it's LS, then yes you will need to EP381 since it puts out ~60 psi that's needed. Aftermarket is depending on what you have...some call for the higher 60 psi, some don't call for as much.

    I guess you could always get the EP381 and if your injection calls for less, put a regulator on it
     
  3. possum70

    possum70 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    194
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mebane, NC
    2003 Tahoe 5.3 motor.
     
  4. Kay86K5

    Kay86K5 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Posts:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    1,027
    Location:
    Emmett, ID
    Build(s):
    2
    Then yes you need the EP381 pump and you need to redo your lines to something that will handle the pressure. Many ways to go about this. I spent a little more money on the nice flexible braided stainless hose going all the way up to the motor and back to the tank. It was really really nice to route the lines where I wanted...but a little more money then other options
     
  5. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    26,870
    Likes Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    aaaummm :thinking:

    the factory steel hard lines will hold the pressure .... just not the rubber flex sections. easy to overcome .

    my 2wd I redid my lines for 2 reasons rusted out and ls engines left side fuel line routing so I made my left tank primary and ran lines up left frame rail shorter and cleaner.
     
  6. Kay86K5

    Kay86K5 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Posts:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    1,027
    Location:
    Emmett, ID
    Build(s):
    2
    I did the same thing. I made my driver saddle tank the main tank that feeds the motor and ran the lines up the outside the frame rail (using the flexible hose) and will just use my passenger tank as a storage tank with a transfer pump.

    For sure the metal sections of the fuel lines will be fine, just need to figure out the rubber hose sections...many have done this with success, just need to do some research on what they did. I'm very happy with the expensive braided hose, but it is expensive. There are other options
     
  7. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    9,045
    Likes Received:
    6,458
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    He mentioned that he already bought a fuel line kit with the LS fittings and a pump https://www.summitracing.com/parts/tnk-ls-line-kit Now all he needs is the adapter/fittings for the tbi sending unit and the delco pump. Not sure what he needs for a return? I'm not too familiar with the LS stuff.

    I'm doing all new hardline as well with steel braid from the firewall to the FiTech throttle body.
     
  8. wetoolowdingbangow

    wetoolowdingbangow 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    4,566
    Likes Received:
    2,721
    Location:
    East Bay, Ca
    Build(s):
    1
    I did steel braided. It probably cost me $200 or so for the line and fittings. It looks damn nice though and i have to do 0 bending and flaring lol.
     
    Kay86K5 likes this.
  9. jdot2004

    jdot2004 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    NJ
    Build(s):
    2
    2 different people. I bought the kit and was just telling @possum70 what I did in case it was an option for him. The products I got may not be the best for the job but they should get the job done...I hope.
     
  10. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    9,045
    Likes Received:
    6,458
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    ha! didn't even notice that...lol

    I won't need to flare any hardline with the fittings I purchased.

     
    Kay86K5 likes this.
  11. Kay86K5

    Kay86K5 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Posts:
    2,218
    Likes Received:
    1,027
    Location:
    Emmett, ID
    Build(s):
    2
    that's a similar fitting to what I used on my clutch to covert the 95 clutch line to the 87 line coming out of my master cylinder. So easy it's not even funny.

    All of these options are good options
     
    skunked likes this.
  12. wetoolowdingbangow

    wetoolowdingbangow 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    4,566
    Likes Received:
    2,721
    Location:
    East Bay, Ca
    Build(s):
    1
    Doesn't look as cool as braided.
     
    skunked and Kay86K5 like this.
  13. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    9,045
    Likes Received:
    6,458
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2

    Good to hear.

    The reviews were pretty good.


    what's even cooler is if you can't see it at all.

    It's fk'n magic I tell you.
     
  14. wetoolowdingbangow

    wetoolowdingbangow 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    4,566
    Likes Received:
    2,721
    Location:
    East Bay, Ca
    Build(s):
    1
    Probably should run some fake line so people dont call you out for a hybrid.
     
  15. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    9,045
    Likes Received:
    6,458
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    good idea, tin foil wrapped garden hose should suffice.
     
    MAX89K5 and wetoolowdingbangow like this.
  16. possum70

    possum70 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    194
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mebane, NC
    Well, I got a TBI 31 g tank, EP381 pump, sending unit and the straps and a pick up filter (because I thought it didn't come with one). I got the sending unit Kay86K5 mentioned. I was just wondering if I can orient the sending unit to the left side of the truck since the LS has the fuel lines on that side.

    possum
     

Share This Page