CK5 Network
Become a member of the largest online community for Chevy K5 Blazer, Suburban and C/K series truck owners!

addition of a tach

riv1973

Registered Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2022
Posts
70
Reaction score
28
Location
New Hampshire
i was wondering how easy it is to add a tach to our instrument cluster on our 1988 blazer. i was thinking of swapping it for the fuel gauge and moving the fuel gauge to the small blank spot in the cluster and put the tach in the large spot where the fuel gauge is now ( to the right of the speedo). is there anything that i need to do with the printed dash circuits? or can i get the LMC tach and fuel gauges and hook them up.

john
 

obijuank5

3/4 ton status
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Posts
7,492
Solutions
1
Reaction score
21,090
Location
Central Texas
Easiest way is to take the whole cluster out and swap in a complete tach cluster. The housing, printed circuit, and the two gauges are different. Easy to modify the housing for the oem tach if you get one.
 

mechted

1 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2003
Posts
969
Reaction score
170
Location
Granbury, TX
Option 2 is to buy a LMC tach addition kit:

but they are backordered... so you will have some waiting to do.
Did this for my 73, but ended up replacing most of my other gauges to make them match, so it got more expensive.
 

Wiregeek

Registered Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2022
Posts
63
Reaction score
60
Location
Alaska
the big dollar option is Dakota Digital. I'm staring at about $3000 shopping cart on their site, but it gets me new gauges and a dash computer, big tach, TPMS, GPS speedo, extra air pressure sensors for airbags, all sorts of fun stuff.
 

dyeager535

1 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Posts
30,190
Solutions
1
Reaction score
1,709
Location
Germany
Or find one of the C60(?) truck clusters/tach that integrates the tach and fuel gauge. I believe that requires minimal work to install.
 

Chickntrk

1/2 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2022
Posts
257
Reaction score
292
Location
Pennsylvania
Jegs has one called the invision, digital but keeps the old look, I like it 15E10684-CFFF-481C-8986-29E41AA67815.png
 

Fastereddie

Sorry if I offended you. Not.
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Posts
6,209
Solutions
1
Reaction score
12,203
Location
Henderson Nevada
Nothing looks as good as the factory style.

Martin
Agreed.
I saw on somebody’s cluster, the base of the needles were black and I liked it. Think I might try it. Maybe on the shortbed first since I don’t have the bezel in yet.
8C75FA73-7030-4807-B4DB-703194CD5950.png
 

riv1973

Registered Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2022
Posts
70
Reaction score
28
Location
New Hampshire
so you could get a factory set up with the tach nest to the RPM gauge? that would be ideal

john
 

riv1973

Registered Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2022
Posts
70
Reaction score
28
Location
New Hampshire
I found a 1977 cluster on ebay. anyone know if the 1977 cluster will work on my 1988 blazer?
 

82355

1 ton status
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Posts
16,059
Reaction score
5,564
Location
Bradish Nebraska
I found a 1977 cluster on ebay. anyone know if the 1977 cluster will work on my 1988 blazer?

You can make it work. The font is different. The 1980+ tach clusters are much less common than the 1973-1979 tach clusters.

Martin
 

82355

1 ton status
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Posts
16,059
Reaction score
5,564
Location
Bradish Nebraska
Here is when I put a '79 tach cluster in a '90 Blazer.


In hindsight I wouldn't have because I don't like the mismatched fonts. It is hard to find the late model tachs though.

Martin
 

mechted

1 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2003
Posts
969
Reaction score
170
Location
Granbury, TX
I found a 1977 cluster on ebay. anyone know if the 1977 cluster will work on my 1988 blazer?
The pin out of the big connector may also be different. I had to check mine and move a few pins around when I changed from the original 73 to a "78" with tach and electric oil pressure. Fairly easy to mod, worth checking before you plug it in an let some magic smoke out of a gauge.
 

bigjimmy82

1-Ton Status
Premium Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Posts
687
Reaction score
174
Location
New Albany, IN
I really wish that I would have coughed up the coin for the reproduction C60 tach/fuel gauge combo before they quit making it. :doah:
I bought one, now I’m thinking i should have got ahold of them to troubleshoot why it doesn’t work before they went out of business. Hadn’t heard that. :eek:

Time flies
 
Top Bottom